beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #70 February 27, 2009

Happy Friday!  You are going to notice somethin’ different in regards to Beate’s wsc.  We (Beate’s sketch challenge team) will be rotating Fridays, hosting sketches, for a while. 

Up this week, for wsc #70, is Lori Craig.  She came up with an awesome sketch for us, and you, to try this weekend.  Here is what I came up with:

mja-blog-feb-27-1

Can I just say…..I LOVE THIS CARD!!!   I also love the new SU! Friends 24-7 stamp set and Friendly Words Jumbo Wheel (a must have filled with tons of little sentiments).

Here is an upclose.  I can sit all day and cut out images.  It doesn’t bother me to grab my paper snips and start cutting away images…I find it rather therapeutic while listening to the tv in the background:)

mja-blog-feb-27-2

Make sure you check out more samples for Beate’s wsc at the sites of these extremely talented ladies:

Beate Johns, Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, and Sharon Harnist.

 

Thanks so much for stopping by.  Enjoy your weekend.

 

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!

STAMPS:  Friends 24-7 and Friendly Words Jumbo Wheel

CARDSTOCK/PAPERS:  Vellum, Shimmery White, Baja Breeze, Not Quite Navy, and Basic  Gray.

INKS:  Basic Gray, Baja Breeze, Kiwi Kiss, and Not Quite Navy Classic Stampin’ Pads; Not Quite Navy Stampin’ Write Marker.

ACCESSORIES:  Scallop Circle Punch; 1-1/4″ and 1-3/8″ Circle Punches; Classy Brass Punches Plus Template; Crafters’ Tool Kit; Color Spritzer Tool; Kiwi Kiss/Very Vanilla Satin Ribbon; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Stampin’ Sponges.

 

23 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #70”

  1. jenn Says:

    Mary Jo! WOW! This is so vintage and shabby and DELICOUS! WOW!!!

  2. Amazing… delicious indeed! AS ALWAYS…. you are just DA BOMB! WOW… that’s all I can get out this morning. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Beate Says:

    Oh my goodness!!!! My jaw dropped to the floor. Fantastic card. Beautiful colors, set and cutting. All those details.
    Your creations are always amazing.
    Have a great weekend. Hugs and smiles

  4. egypt Says:

    *Gasp* this is so, so, so beautiful…. everything is just perfect, form the colours to the style… GREAT!!!

  5. Absolutely stunning, Mary Jo — love the shabbiness & colors and that cut out bird is amazing!

  6. THis is just GORGEOUS, Mary Jo! So beautiful!

  7. Cindy Major Says:

    A girl after my own heart… I really love those colours together! Love the way you stamped the flower repeatedly to create foliage behind your bird. Looks gorgeous, Mary Jo!

    Have a great weekend,
    Cindy

  8. pegg Says:

    Incredible! Love your card!!

  9. Heather P. Says:

    Oh wow, this is amazing!

  10. Martie M Says:

    This card must have taken quite a bit of time to produce – but well worth it. Love the edge treatment of the off white panels in the back.

  11. Monique H. Says:

    I love, love, love your card! Talk about precision cutting … I’m like you though, I could sit for hours and just cut paper!

  12. Vicki Woebbecke Says:

    The colors are so beautiful. I think you have captured a hint of scherenschnitte. Do you have European roots? heehee
    love it, glad you are enjoying your therapy

  13. Ann Says:

    Wow, did my mouth drop & drool starting coming out. JK on the drool! But seriously, this is one of the most gorgeous cards I have ever seen!!!! The colors are gorgeous together, I love your use of various papers, etc. It’s very difficult to find gals that use the darker tones which I LOVE! They give a more antique look. Talk about B E A UTIFUL!

    My love for birds definitely persuaded me to order this stamp set & wheel yesterday along with customers orders. I can’t wait until my SU packages come to my doorstep now! So I can play around with them!

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful card! True inspiration!

    Stampin’ Smiles from Ear to Ear,
    Ann

  14. Renée Says:

    You should love this card, it’s absolutely GORGEOUS! I love the colours, I love the distressing with inks and torn edges … beautifully inspiring!

  15. Nikki Says:

    I have to say…I love this cad too! This turned out amazing! Just a beautiful silhouette you made with the flowers and bird and a wonderful vintage feel to it! Gorgeous! {SMILES}

  16. Mary P Says:

    Very Pretty. That’s a lot of cutting you did, WOW.

  17. Amy Lee Says:

    This is such a stunning card. I can’t believe that you sat there & cut all those flowers & grass out. Go You! Another wonderful master piece you have offered up for our enjoyment. Great job!

  18. Mike Says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  19. Conniecrafter Says:

    Beautiful, great distressing and cutting out of the bird and branch!

  20. Meredith Says:

    I look forward to each and every creation you make. I loved this one! 🙂

  21. Jan Says:

    Geezo pete…this is GOJUS! You probably burned up an Xacto blade just cutting all that out!

  22. Aw thanks for the sweet comment Mary Jo! Seriously this was awesome inspiration…you are an inspiration too! Crazy I thought I commented on this right away, but I can see I didn’t! Sometimes I think I’ve done something ….but it was only in my brain !

    Have a great week!

  23. Mary Jo!! I love this card!! Love the set too. So glad I have it as now I can case your card. Of course it won’t be as beautiful as yours as you are da Queen. Simply beautiful!


Leave a Reply

