beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

TUTORIAL — SU! Woven Easter Basket March 18, 2009

Due to all of the requests, I wanted to share with you how I created this woven easter basket here.  I am showing you how to make one woven envelope basket side.  You can then create whatever style/size basket you wish.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-05

Using SU! Big Shot Die-Cut Machine, SU! Scallop Envelope bigz die, and patterned paper, die cut out the envelope.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-06

Option 1:  Using Paper Cutter, cut off the scalloped top flap of the envelope.

Or

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-07

Option 2: Simply line up your patterned paper with the score line on the die as shown in the pic above.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-08

The left scored tab is FOLDED UNDER (not cut away).  You will make cuts down to the bottom horizontal scored line.  Cut at 1/2″, 7/8″, 1-3/8″, 1-7/8″, 2-3/8″, and 2-3/4″.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-09

With Paper Snips, cut away pieces of patterned paper, on the score line, as shown in pic above.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-10

You will need 3 strips of patterned paper measuring 1/2″ x 3-1/8″.  Weave as shown, adhering as you go.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-11

Option to add smaller strips within the weaves.  You will need 6 strips of patterned paper measuring 1/8″ x 2-1/2″.  Weave as shown, adhering as you go.  Don’t worry about the adhesive needed for these strips — the top and bottom will be covered with cardstock.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-12

TIP:  make sure your strips “line up” from piece to piece.

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-13

Creating the overhanging scallop flat to the top of the basket:  With a 2″ x 3-1/8″ piece of patterned paper and the SU! Scallop Envelope Die, cut out just the top scalloped fold to the envelope.  (optional:  I cut away the angle and made a straight cut from the last scallop).

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-14

Apply Sticky Strip to the reverse side.  One on either side of the score line.  Fold over the top of the woven basket side panel that you just created.

Continue assembling the basket as you normally would.

Why I opted to use this wild Pink Flamingo Designer Series Paper?  Well, I went to the grocery store yesterday and couldn’t pass up the holiday candy aisle.  I picked up all of my Daughter’s favorite candy items.  When I got home, I realized that none of the candy had your normal pastel & spring colors to them.  They were bright and fun colors.  I won’t lie!  My daughter caught me making this basket for her…..and the candy is now missing!  Gone!  All of it!  Oh man!  I feel like a bad mom.  But, we have a cute basket left over to enjoy:)

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-01

This is a head on view of my basket.  Did you notice?  This basket has 6 sides to it. 

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-04

It’s a Hexagon so I could fit all of the goodies into it!

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-02

Do you remember those candies on the paper when you were a child?  I loved them.  The little dots of candy.  The soggy paper from trying to get the candy off of that paper.  Just brings back childhood memories. 

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-15

I decided to cut the sheets into strips.  I wrapped the strips around a pencil and used them as filler paper for the basket…YUM!

mja-blog-basket-tutorial-03

Using my Crop-a-Dile tool, I added an Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelet to two parallel sides so I could thread the Real Red Grosgrain ribbon through.  Added a sentiment tag perfect for a teen girl. 

I hope you find some inspiration in this post today.   I think some dentists will be thanking me lol.  Thanks for stopping by.

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!

STAMP:  Level II Hostess Set A Little Somethin’.

CARDSTOCK:  Whisper White, Summer Sun, and Tempting Turquoise.

PATTERNED PAPER:  Pink Flamingo Designer Series Paper.

INK:  Tempting Turquoise

ACCESSORIES:  SU! Big Shot Die-Cut Machine and Scallop Envelope bigz die; Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelets; Crop-a-Dile tool; Real Red 5/8″ and 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon; Tempting Turquoise 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon; Whisper White 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon; Cello Bags; Hemp Twine; 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Square Punches. 

 

24 Responses to “TUTORIAL — SU! Woven Easter Basket”

  1. Beth Norman Says:

    Okay, I’m going to have to make this. How awesome. Great tutorial!! Found you by way of SCS thread.

  2. What a fantastic basket you’ve created. Awesome directions…clear and concise! TFS

  3. Chris Says:

    I hadn’t noticed the 6 sides – it’s even cuter than I thought. And, the candy paper for filler? Wow, that beats plastic easter grass any day!! How kind of you to share your creation!!

  4. Vicky Says:

    WOW!! your basket is truely amazing, thanks so uch for sharing your wonderful tutorial with us.
    Vicky

  5. Melissa Says:

    Adorable and so awesome. Thanks for sharing your tutorial!

  6. lisa808 Says:

    Wow, love this basket. Thanks so much for the great tutorial.

  7. Charlene Says:

    Wow!! You are so sweet and generous to share your idea and your time with us. Thanks so much!!

  8. Britiney Says:

    You really are a genius. Thanks for the tutorial.

  9. Brenda Says:

    Mary Jo, I LOVE this version of the envelope basket!!! awesome!

  10. 2stampis2b Says:

    Oh my goodness, this is cute! Good idea for making it six sided! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Kathy Brighten Says:

    That is such an amazing project. I just have to make this lovely basket for my mom. Now I have another project I can make using that die. Thank you so much for sharing it!!
    Kathy

  12. Julie Says:

    That is sooooooo cute! Thank you so much for sharing the instructions and photos with us. This will definitely be a project for me!

  13. Nancy Riley Says:

    MJ, this basket is spectacular, and your tutorial is so very well done! Thank you for sharing!

  14. Cindy Major Says:

    Well, aren’t you clever! When I saw your last basket, I thought you had woven some paper on TOP of the envelope dies. The way you did it is even better!
    And what a great way to modify the size of the final basket… Your blog is always my favorite stop of the day. 🙂

    TFS!
    Cindy

  15. Candyce M Says:

    Wow, Thanks So Much for Sharing. I was going to try the other basket & I was going to it a different way all together… Can’t wait to try it, just got another pack of the SAB DSP. Thanks again for the Super Tutorial & great pics. Your the greatest!
    Thanks
    Candyce

  16. Beate Says:

    Oh my goodness! That is wow indeed, Mary Jo! You are amazing!

  17. Nanne Says:

    This is an outstanding idea.. I love it.. just wanted you to know, your basket idea made it all the way to Finland.. Found you on stamp,paper,scissors.

  18. Marcia Says:

    What a cute idea. I love it.

  19. Linda Bandow Says:

    Thanks for this GREAT tutorial……I really like this basket and think I might actually be able to do it!l

  20. LeAnne Says:

    Mary Jo, you are just so clever!!! I love all the things you can do with this little envy!

  21. WOWZER! This is beautiful! Thanks for making this and sharing it!

  22. Linda Says:

    What a great idea. Should really help prmote your sales for the big shot die. Thanks so much for sharing your idea. Think I will try this with my girl scouts.

  23. Seriously MJ this is amazing! You think so creatively out of the box, I’m going to try this tomorrow and then see if I might be able to teach it to my club on Tuesday! I’ll tell them it was all your idea!

    Thanks for a fantastic tutorial!

  24. Kris Says:

    Straight up RIDICULOUS. AWESOME!


Leave a Reply

