beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

An “OMG” moment August 17, 2009

While creating swaps for convention, I noticed something out of the corner of my eye.  I had one of those OMG moments where I ran up to my daughter and said, “What does this look like to you?”  Her response was what I wanted to hear:)

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-8

Above is a little sample of my convention swap (I’ll share in a couple days) and a flower image from the stamp set Greenhouse Garden.

One thing I’m consistent with is getting you to think outside the box and utilize your stamp sets to their fullest.  You can invest in a flower set and be able to use it for other purposes as well…..who wouldn’t love that?

HOW ABOUT CREATING SOME YUMMY GIFTS FEATURING ORANGES, LEMONS, AND LIMES OH MY!  (all supplies listed at end of post)

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-5-1

Fill a Medium Flat 4×6 Cello Bag with those gummy sugar orange slices.  Create a belly band featuring SU! Finial Press textured Impressions Embossing Folder.  Throw on an orange slice and a sentiment created with SU! Billboard sizzlit decorative strip die (gotta love that…being able to die cut out any sentiment).  I covered my letters with Crystal Effects.

 

Here is another project featuring the orange slice and orange flavored candy sticks.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-3-1

Again, filled a Cello Bag with candy. I created a belly band….this one has a Jumbo Eyelet, Chocolate Chip 1-1/4″ striped grosgrain ribbon, orange slice with Linen Thread, and an appropriate sentiment from the stamp set From the Kitchen of

 

Here in Central Pennsylvania this summer, it seems like every other person has been treated for Lyme Disease (me included).  NOT FUN!  You can’t go into a store and purchase a get well card like the one below lol.  How fun!  I would have loved to receive something like this to make me feel a bit better and definitely bring on a smile.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-1-1

I LOVE THIS CARD!  Again, created my own personal sentiment and covered the letters with Crystal Effects.  On this one, I used SU! Perfect Details texturz plate.  The “get well soon” sentiment is from the stamp set Thoughts & Prayers.

 

The last project features a lemon slice.  I used a little metal tin and filled with large Lemon Heads.  In the pic, the coloring doesn’t show up correctly….it is a summer sun lemon but it looks more like an orange.  The hello sentiment is from the stamp set Hello Again

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-7-1

How to create your slice of citrus:

Use Whisper White cardstock.  Stamp the flower image, from Greenhouse Garden stamp set, in classic ink.  Restamp over in Versamark.  Apply Clear Embossing Powder and heat to set.  Use 1-3/4″ Circle Punch to punch out your image.  Sponge edges with same ink color.  Use Circle Scissor Plus and cut out a 2″ circle.  Sponge edges again in same ink color.  Adhere the two pieces together.  You can cut your citrus slice in half or quarters as well.  Extremely easy and showcases how to get the most out of a stamp set:)

Thanks for stopping by!  Happy Monday!

ORANGE SLICE CELLO BAG #1 (with gummy orange slices):

Greenhouse Garden set (113824); Whisper White cs (100730), So Saffron cs (105118), Pumpkin Pie cs (105117), and Chocolate Chip cs (102128); Pumpkin Pie ink (105216), Versamark Pad (102283); Medium Flat 4×6″ Cellophane Bag (102757); Chocolate Chip Corduroy Buttons (114339); Scallop Edge Punch (112091); 1-3/4″ Circle Punch (112004); Circle Scissor Plus (112530); Crop-a-Dile Tool (108362); Mat Pack (105826); Crystal Effects (101055); Stampin’ Sponges (101610); Clear Stampin’ Emboss Powder (109130); Heat Tool (100005); Big Shot Die-Cut Machine (113439); Finial Press Textured Impressions Embossing Folder (115963); Billboard Sizzlet Decorative Strip Die (114510).

ORANGE SLICE CELLO BAG #2 (with candy sticks):

Greenhouse Garden set (113824) and From the Kitchen of set (111087); Whisper White cs (100730), So Saffron cs (105118), Pumpkin Pie cs (105117), and Chocolate Chip cs (102128); Pumpkin Pie ink (105216), Pumpkin Pie marker (105115), Versamark Pad (102283), and Chocolate Chip ink (100908); Medium Flat 4×6″ Cellophane Bag (102757); 1-3/4″ Circle Punch (112004); Circle Scissor Plus (112530); Crop-a-Dile Tool (108362); Stampin’ Sponges (101610); Clear Stampin’ Emboss Powder (109130); Heat Tool (100005); Big Shot Die-Cut Machine (113439); Finial Press Textured Impressions Embossing Folder (115963); Linen Thread (104199); Chocolate Chip 1-1/4″ Striped Grosgrain Ribbon (115617); Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelets (108431); Stampin’ Dimensionals (104430).

LIME DISEASE GET WELL CARD:

Greenhouse Garden set (113824) and Thoughts & Prayers set (113252); Shimmery White cs (101910), Whisper White cs (100730), and Green Galore cs (101768); Green Galore ink (102122), Versamark Pad (102283), and Basic  Black marker (100082); Mini Library Clips (109857); 1-3/4″ Circle Punch (112004); Circle Scissor Plus (112530); Stampin’ Sponges (101610); Clear Stampin’ Emboss Powder (109130); Heat Tool (100005); Big Shot Die-Cut Machine (113439); Perfect Details Texturz Plate (115962); Billboard Sizzlet Decorative Strip Die (114510); Crystal Effects (101055); Pop-Up Glue Dots (104183).

Lemon Head Hello Tin:

Hello Again set (113780); Whisper White cs (100730), and Summer Sun cs (103124); Summer Sun ink (100537), Tempting Turquoise ink (100814); and Versamark Pad (102283);  1-3/4″ Circle Punch (112004); Small Oval Punch (107304); Circle Scissor Plus (112530); Stampin’ Sponges (101610); Clear Stampin’ Emboss Powder (109130); Heat Tool (100005); Tempting Turquoise 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon (109038); Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelets (108431); Crop-a-Dile Tool (108362).  Tin from Michaels craft store for $1.

shop now-1

 

26 Responses to “An “OMG” moment”

  1. Tandra Boyer Says:

    Hi MJ!
    OMGosh you TOTALLY made my mouth ‘tart’!! lol
    I totally see fireworks with this stamp set, using the inside lines stamp for the flower. (did that make sense?? lol)
    They look like exploding fireworks, but I dont have the set yet, maybe you could make some? 😉

    Fabulous stuff as always!

  2. Enrique Says:

    That is really thinking outside the box! Very clever. I love to be able to stretch a stamps purpose. Thanks for the inspiration. I’ll look at my flower stamps a little different.

  3. Anthonette Says:

    Oops…previous comment is mine…not Enrique…my DH was signed it to his wordpress account.

  4. Lori-Anne Says:

    Oh WOW!!! No wonder you won the Artisan Award again!!!! These are awesome! Thanks for sharing…never would’ve thought of the flower stamps this way! Oh, and I LOVE the “lime disease” card!!! LMBO!!! 😉

  5. What a great idea!! Now I see that flower stamp as the inside of fruit and not so much a flower…LOL!! Thanks for thinking outside the box for those of us stuck in the box. :0)

  6. Sara Langland Says:

    Another Wow–you “see” things so much better than I do! Our minds must work on different wave lengths! This is great inspiration for trying to “see” in a different way!

  7. Tracey Says:

    Ok… so “Lime Disease”? Fabulous! (and with extra meaning since moving to Connecticut) Thanks for sharing! ~Tracey

  8. Christyne Says:

    OMG is TOTALLY right! How absolutely BRILLIANT!!!

  9. diane mcvey Says:

    I love your ingenuity! Amazingly cute….thanks for the insight! 😀

  10. Lisa Davis Says:

    Mary Jo this is so cool, I think you are an awesome artist! tfs
    Lisa

  11. Donna Henley Says:

    I love seeing new ideas that aren’t the “traditional” use for a stamp – you had a great “OMG” moment & your projects are awesome!

    cheers
    Donna

  12. Debbie Pokerwinski Says:

    Greetings from Buffalo, NY! How very clever you are! What a great “out of the box” way to use your stamp…one I wouldn’t have thought about. Thanks for sharing your great idea Mary Jo! Debbie

  13. Michelle Says:

    You’re brilliant! I love being able to use my stamps in different ways so thank you for this. It’s too clever!

  14. Absolutely adorable! So much fun!

  15. Jen Says:

    Mary Jo…this is brilliant. Thanks for sharing….and Congrats on the AA! You so totally deserve it!!!

  16. Beth Says:

    LOVE IT! What a way to show versatility! Thanks!!

  17. Lori Says:

    Mary Jo,

    thanks for sharing this…it is awesome info to get such great end results. I was able to meet you at convention this year and really enjoyed saying hello!

    Lori

  18. You are a genius girl!! That is amazing!!

  19. Cindy Major Says:

    Your creativity will never cease to amaze me… Great catch on that one! Love all of the projects you’ve made with this stamp. The Lime disease card made me crack a smile!

    Cindy

  20. Angie Tieman Says:

    How creative!! Great vision, as always, love these projects!

  21. Tonya Says:

    OMG! is correct what a great outside the box idea. I have been eyeing this set but keep telling myself that I don’t “need” another flower set but you just showed me it isn’t just a flower set it is so much more. Thank you for sharing your talent and great ideas, Tonya

  22. oh my – as if this set wasn’t already at the top of my ‘must have’ list, you have now moved it to the ‘gotta get it NOW, where is my cc and the number of my demo?’ list! 😉

    super creative and oh, so clever!!!! lovin’ each and every one!

  23. Maureen W. Says:

    Once again you totally blow me away with your creative mind!! I never would have thought that flower looked like a citrus slice center! LOVE this idea and your projects! TFS!

  24. Tamera Says:

    I make bath salts and such, and love the idea of this flower set as citrus fruit. Great idea!

  25. How super duper creative! I have that stamp and never would have thought “orange” when I looked at it. BTW, I totally cracked up at the Lime Disease card- I don’t know why- just struck me as funny.


Leave a Reply

