beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Birthday thank-you cards January 28, 2010

My little Ethan turned 6yo this month.  We had a fun winter birthday party at a local little ski resort (not many big mountains here in central PA).  We took 22 guests and headed out for some snow-tubing fun!   We had a blast, and hardly payed attention to the near teen temperatures.  Here is a pic of Ethan (middle) and his best buds.

Here is a picture of the thank you card I sent out to the guests. 

These animal images are just too cute….and definitely my style.  I had one extra thank you card left over.  I wanted to “wow” it up a bit & show you how those little extra touches can make a huge difference on a card.

I used Mini Glue Dots, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Stampin’ Write Markers, and some patterned papers from Welcome Home Designer Series Paper Pad to add many more little cute details to the card.

 

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!:

STAMPS:  Sale-a-bration stamp set Whimsical Words; Occasions mini catalog stamp set Fox & Friends.

PAPERS:  Bermuda Bay, Whisper White, Kraft, Crushed Curry, Chocolate Chip, Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive cardstock; Welcome Home Designer Series Paper Pad (occasions mini catalog).

INKS:  Bermuda Bay, Crushed Curry, Chocolate Chip, Pumpkin Pie, and Old Olive Classic Stampin’ Pads; Chocolate Chip, Pumpkin Pie, and Crushed Curry Stampin’ Write Markers.

ACCESSORIES:  1/4″ Old Olive Grosgrain Ribbon; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Mini Glue Dots; 1-1/4″ and 1-3/8″ Circle Punches.

 

16 Responses to “Birthday thank-you cards”

  1. Simply gorgeous! I love that set too. Next year our little ones should celebrate together.
    Love you sister!!

  2. fran sabad Says:

    Happy Birthday Ethan! What a cute, cute card – and great ideas on stepping it up!

  3. Christyne Says:

    Oh MJ! These are SO cute!!! I have this set and will most definitely have to CASE this card!

  4. Lynn Says:

    Totally adorable Mary Jo!
    I love all the cute details!

  5. Sherry Weldy Says:

    I adore all of your little enhancements! Couldn’t be sweeter!!!

  6. NancyS Says:

    How utterly sweet and adorable, Mary Jo. You are so clever…the color choices are smashing, and the details are wonderful. TFS.

  7. So very cute!!! Love the WOW dressed up version too!
    Mary

  8. Laura Howell Says:

    Great thank you cards! I love this set also. I’ll be using for a childs birthday card.

  9. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh my gosh – I love both versions, but the detailing on the second one is unbelievable! Reminds me why you’re my favorite stamper. Details, details, details!

    The second version is definitely not something you would mass-produce, though… haha!

    TFS!
    Cindy

  10. Awesome! Love all the new Valentine cards and treat cups. Great ideas and love the wow elements. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  11. Jill K Says:

    You are so amazing at the little details. I LOVE it. I’ve been needing some MJ inspiration lately so thank you for sharing. I love all your recent posts!! Happy anniversary too. We just celebrated our 10 year last week. FUN TIMES!

  12. Erin K Says:

    WOW that dressed up one is AMAZING. I mean they are both totally cute, but you blew me away with the second version.

  13. This is my FAV. Set I can’t stop using it now I have to go grab it again!! LOVE this card 🙂 TFS!

  14. TanyaBuff Says:

    these are adorable!!! greta work, thanks for sharing!

  15. kathleenh Says:

    I love how you showed the card where you notched it up a few levels. Awesome touches!


Leave a Reply

