beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a great cause…please read! September 10, 2007

I had to branch away from Stampin’ Up! (sort of) for such a great cause.

I WOULD LIKE TO INTRODUCE YOU TO ALEXA.  She is Lauren Meader’s daughter.  And this stamp set was designed especially for her with proceeds going towards Pediatric Cancer Research.   You can purchase Alexa’s stamp set for just $12 plus s&h.

Go get a box of kleenex and please take a moment to read her story on Lauren’s blog (click on Alexa’s story in header….even more, browse around her awesome site).

princess alexa suspension card   princess alexa suspension card details

This is a 5-1/2″ x 11″ card folded in half suspension card.  You can view Beate’s tutorial on scs.  Isn’t this little princess precious with all the crowns???  I think so. 

STAMP SETS:  Alexa’s set; Canvas BG; So Swirly jumbo wheel.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Tempting Turquoise, Pumpkin Pie, Rose Red, Regal Rose, Shimmery White.

INKS USED:  Same as CS colors, Old Olive, Blush Blossom, Close to Cocoa, Stazon Jet Black.

ACCESSORIES USED:  1-3/8″ & 1-1/4″ circle punches, coluzzle, 3/16″ corner rounder punch, ticket corner punch, certainly celery 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon, dental floss, sticky strip, Aqua Painter.

A for Alexa card                 A for Alexa side view(side view)

This is a cute 3″ x 8″ card folded in half.  I love the color combo and the cool girl.  How fun is this??? 

STAMP SETS:  Alexa’s set, Big Deal Alphabet.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Elegant Eggplant, Bashful Blue, Purely Pomegranate, More Mustard, Shimmery White, Old Olive.

INKS USED:  Same as CS colors, Close to Cocoa, Blush Blossom, Versamark, Stazon Jet Black.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Wire Works, Silver Brads, Aluminum Circle Tag, Scallop Punch, Coluzzle, Mellow Moss Grosgrain Ribbon, Purely Pomegranate Dbl-Stitched Ribbon, Paper Piercing tool, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, 1-3/8″ & 1-1/4″ Circle Punch, Aqua Painter, Round Tab Punch.

alexa’s fluttering by card

This card is 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ folded in half.  I found inspiration in Beate’s card and used the two strands of purely pomegranate dbl-stitched ribbon for balance on the card.

STAMP SETS:  Alexa’s set, Whimsy Jumbo Wheel.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Whisper White, Cutie Pie DSP, Bashful Blue.

INKS USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Bashful Blue, So Saffron, Whisper White Craft Pad, Stazon Jet Black, Certainly Celery.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Purely Pomegranate dbl-stitched ribbon, Certainly Celery 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon, Scallop Punch, 1-3/8″ Circle Punch, Coluzzle, Crystal Effects, Dazzling Diamonds Glitter.

Finally, like I mentioned before, I did a triathlon last year for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and raised money for Blood Cancers.  I completed it and came home with such a rewarding emotional feeling inside.  I also brought home this medal.  I have been displaying it proudly, but wanted to give it to someone who totally inspires me to do what I do.  I wanted to give it to someone to show that I care.  I found this in Alexa.  I will be sending her these cards, my triathlon medal, and one of the Stampin’ Up! tattoo kits that I am donating.  If I do start training again for next May’s triathlon…..It will be for Alexa:)  I’ll keep you posted.

triathlon medal for alexa

Have a great day!

 

19 Responses to “a great cause…please read!”

  1. OMW! MJ you are makin me cry! How amazing and sweet of you! There are no words that can descirbe the beautfy in your post, and your kindness and giving so much towards others!!!

    Thank you so much!

  2. […] click —>HERE to read it! Its so sweet. I love also seeing/hearing what other people out there do to use […]

  3. Cheryl K Says:

    What a nice thing to do. Absolutely amazing!

  4. Tracey aka cuccicoo1002 Says:

    WOW, what awesome projects you made with Alexa’s set, not to mention your message about her. What a beautiful person you are, and how wonderful that you share it with us! Thanks for being so wonderful…

  5. Chris Mott Says:

    Wonderful cards with Alexa set. I am sure both Lauren & Alex are very touched. I have read her story and they are both amazing! Thanks for sharing her story too! chris

  6. Betty Says:

    How sweet … a medal for Alexa who has been through so much! Thank you for making this precious girl’s 8th birthday so special.

  7. Barb Barton Says:

    MJ, this is such a sweet thing to do for Alexa!! She is defintely one special little girl and so are you for doing this for her!!!

    The cards are amazing as always. I’ll see you in Philly Saturday!!!

  8. Lynn Says:

    What a wonderful thing for you to do for Alexa. Your cards are very sweet. I cant wait to get my Alexa stamp set!

    Thanks for posting this information 🙂

  9. Karen Says:

    OMG what an inspiring lift to my day! You could not have chose a better inspiration!

    Thank you for your gift of love & art!

  10. Pam Wilson Says:

    What a lovely, kind act. I am sure that Alexa will love the cards and the medal. I can’t think of a more deserving person to receive it – she truely is a little champion.

  11. Just read your post and went to order Alexa’s set! Couldn’t help it! Stamps AND a good cause. Who can resist? Just found your blog! It is great! Will be sure to stop back!

  12. Jan Scholl Says:

    I just ordered too. I had a brother with Muscular Dystrophy who died at 15. I have always felt my best friend in the world was not with me. But he really is with me always. My boo would have loves me being artistic.

  13. Angie Says:

    I have read the story and yes I cried!!! how sweet of you to make the cards and promote the set! gorgeus cards!!!

  14. Your are an angel to Alexa to be sure! This is just fabulous what you are and have done on her bleoved behalf. Bless you! Den

  15. Heather P. Says:

    You have such a beautiful heart!

  16. Kathyc on SCS Says:

    What a beautiful gift, from one champion to another!

  17. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo, you are sooo sweet!
    Beautiful card, even more beautiful thought and post!

  18. Renee V. Says:

    “The beauty within” – the title describes you perfectly. What a beautiful, generous gift you’ve given.
    Thank you for brightening my day and I’m sure others as well.
    Hugs,
    Renee

  19. rebeccamcs Says:

    What a wonderful tribute to Alexa. I’ve worked with children diagnosed with cancer for many years. They are amazing and the best reminder of what’s really important in this world. Thanks for sharing her story.


Leave a comment