beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

how elegant November 17, 2007

I’ve always been a fan of Thomas Kinkade artwork.  With a house full of kids, I wouldn’t dare invest in a portrait for my wall,  so I’ll settle for the stamps of course:)

thomas kinkade card

I first fell in love with TK stamps, from Cornish Heritage Farms, when I saw an image stamped in Purely Pomegranate on Lori Craig’s blog.  You can see her card here.  I haven’t even thought of attempting to color in this stamped image.  I couldn’t replicate the original and I think it just wouldn’t look right…so go monochromatic and be safe right??

thomas kinkade card upclose

I wish I lived in this setting.  It is so my style with the light posts, stone & brick houses with the beautiful windows, the church, and all the trees covered in snow.  How picturesque.  Okay, I’m back to reality with my Wisteria Lane type neighborhood and all the desperate housewives all over the place who know everything about everyone…LOL.

This card base is Purely Pomegranate CS measuring 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ folded in half.  Layers are as follows:  Whisper White CS 4-1/8″ square with Ticket Corner Punch to all 4 corners; Holiday Harmony DSP 4″ square with Ticket Corner Punch to all 4 corners; Vellum paper 3-3/4″ square with sentiment stamped to bottom middle in Purely Pomegranate ink.  All three of these layers here adhered together, added a piece of Purely Pomegranate Satin Ribbon across, then adhered to the card base.  Main image stamped on  Whisper White CS measuring 2-3/16″ x 3-3/16″ (just an odd image size) matted on Purely Pomegranate CS 2-5/16″ x 3-5/16″.  Added 4 brads from Vintage Brads Assortment and attached to card base.  Added 4 more brads to the outer 4 corners of the card base. 

That’s it.  This card took 10 minutes to make.  This is a definite mass produce card for giving out this holiday season. 

 

4 Responses to “how elegant”

  1. Lori Craig Says:

    STRIKING!! The vellum overlay on the patterened paper is a beautiful touch! Love the brads and of course, that color!!!

  2. Melissa Says:

    It’s so beautiful Mary Jo!

  3. Kris Says:

    Very pretty~ I am working on my Christmas cards right now, using the same stamp{ I bought 3 of the holiday scenes from CHF} and I really like yours without coloring the image. I cant seem to get it right, no matter what I try!

  4. Looks lovely in Purely Pomegrante! Deb


Leave a comment