beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

beate’s weekend sketch challenge #44 April 18, 2008

Oh the places I find inspiration.  When I go to work, I do write down some of the awesome patterns and color combos on my co-workers scrub tops…some of them are used to my routine.  Others learn that this is a norm for me.  Another place I was just amazed by the color combinations was at Babies R’ Us a couple weeks ago….go check out the bedding/nursery sets and you will see some of the coolest trend-setting combinations out there.

This card, for Beate’s wsc #44, is from one of the scrub tops I saw.  It was a flowered patterned top that was half black & white and half colored:

STAMP SETS USED:  SU! Stitched Exotics, Stitched Background, and All Holidays.

CARDSTOCK USED:  SU! Shimmery White, Basic Black, Taken with Teal.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black, Old Olive, Pumpkin Pie, Taken with Teal, and Rose Red.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Ice Circle Rhinestone Brads, Vintage Brads Assortment, Flower Fusion, Jersey Ribbon Originals, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch, Horizontal Slot Punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Stickles.

Make sure you head on over to the blogs of these very talented ladies to see more samples for the wsc:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Have a wonderful weekend.

 

 

28 Responses to “beate’s weekend sketch challenge #44”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    Oh how cute, Mary Jo! I LOVE how you only colored in some of the flowers! Very neat idea! Such a SWEET card!

  2. Vera Says:

    What a fabulous idea to color in the Stitched background! It looks terrific! Great card!

  3. Beate Says:

    Oh…MJ, leave it up to you to step that background up a notch! I LOVE the way you colored it. Gorgeous card!
    Hugs and smiles

  4. WOW… you colored that in? Holy cow woman! Totally BEAUTIFUL! You always make my mouth open! Love it! 🙂

  5. Gorgeous, MJ — love the b/w with color added and rounded corners! Great job with the challenge!

  6. Carrie Says:

    Oh, my, word! I am dying over this card! My stitched background is on its way, don’t know how I lived with out it this long. Thanks for sharing, I JUST LOVE THIS CARD!

  7. Tamara Says:

    That is a very cool card. I love the idea of colouring some, and leaving some black and white. Fantastic!

  8. stacilynch Says:

    So beautiful! Love the colors and idea!

  9. Beautiful card Maryjo, I LOVE how you used the BG stamp. colored them in and added some fun sparkle. Great card as always!

    Have a great weekend,
    Jennifer 🙂

  10. Joanne Says:

    I really like this background stamp, and love how you have used it. The way you have done the coloured section is so pretty. Lovely card.

  11. I am always amazed at the creative ideas you come up with!! Thank you so much for sharing about how you are inspired!! I need to start paying attention to things around me more! 🙂 The underlying black and white theme with some color added in is just gorgeous…and then you added sparkle! Yum!

  12. Maria Jesus Says:

    beautiful card!! very creative.
    MJ

  13. Wow, awesome card, Love how you colored in the flowers !!

  14. What a gorgeous card! I love how you colored only parts of it! Beautiful!

  15. Lori Craig Says:

    Yep, another beauty!! This is gorgeous, MJ! Love that coloring and the glitter! Beautimous!!! mwah!

  16. OMGosh MJ!! This is beautiful. I have that bg stamp and have never used it. I think I might be coloring it in verrrrryyy soon!! Thanks for sharing an amazing idea. Go scrubs!!

  17. Jennifer Scull Says:

    MAN OH MAN!!!!!!!! THIS IS GORGEOUS!!!!

    Sorry for the all-caps, but gosh what a beautiful card to wake up to!!! makes me want to get that set and suddenly develop never-before had talent! 😉 you are just soooooooo very creative! that is why you are the inspiration to so many of us1

    have a great weekend!
    Jennifer

  18. Lisa Henke Says:

    beatutiful! I love the way this turned out and the sparkles are amazing!

  19. Conniecrafter Says:

    Love the look of b&w, mixed with the color, the stickles gives them a neat touch too!

  20. Laura Says:

    Mary Jo…I have never seen or thought to colour this stamp in…but OH, I can’t wait to try! You always share such cool ideas!

  21. rose kerry Says:

    WOW, this card is awesome, such a nice contrast between the black & white, and the colored in. Excellent card.

  22. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh, boy… I do not need this background stamp. I do not need this background stamp.

    Can you hear how un-convincing I sound? 😉 I love how you left some parts uncolored and I love how this background looks colored in! It’s so delicate and beautiful…

    Great job using your scrub inspiration!
    Cindy 🙂

  23. Lauren Vincitorio Says:

    This is so unique and so gorgeous! I love your soft coloring and the contrast with the b/w. TFS!

  24. Ickle Pickle Says:

    Fabulous card Mary Jo, thanks for shaing 🙂

  25. […] also decided to try a technique that I’ve never done before.  This technique was inspired by this card I saw on Mary Jo Albright’s blog.  I borrowed her concept of the alternating colored and […]

  26. head wraps Says:

    Regardless of why we’ve lost our hair, the general public assumes we are sick.
    Also, because of to their far more commercial nature, Mity Lite spherical
    folding tables come with a twelve year factory guarantee.
    This sort of design and style has simple leg access and even table-top
    rated peak in mind. FOOD FOR THOUGHT: Want to find out the underlying influence in a situation.
    A head scarf can indeed be more than just something fashionable or traditional.

  27. Sadye Says:

    Hello! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He
    always kept talking about this. I will forward
    this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment