beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

beate’s weekend sketch challenge #45 April 25, 2008

Every one needs a little encouragement at times.  Especially a new Nurse.  I am working with a lot of new GN’s and another round is due to graduate very soon.  I couldn’t possibly find the time to make a card for each of them, so I will place this card in our break room at work for all of them.

Here is my card I created for Beate’s wsc#45

  I just love Boyd’s bears.  I’m not a collector, but I think they are adorable.  I don’t live far from Gettysburg…which means visits to Boyd’s Bear Country.  A fun place to visit with the kids.  I’ll skip out on the history part any day and go right for the fun.

I have had this stamp, Clara the Nurse for about 10 years.  I actually purchased it when I graduated nursing school and made my own graduation invites for my Mother to send out.  I did a search and couldn’t find any info on it (I don’t browse ebay, but maybe it’s there somewhere).  The sentiment is from MFT Essential Sentiments set and the dots stamped in Versamark ink on the piece of Bordering Blue CS is from MFT Behind the Scenes set.

I wanted the card to appear worn and ragged like the image.  After the image was colored, I distressed, sponged, and wrinkled it up.  I then applied Ranger Crackle Accents to it.  The background base piece of CS was created with Ranger Distress Crackle Paint.  I mixed together Old Paper and Vintage Photo to get the color I wanted.  I added some twill tape and buttons to coordinate with the image. 

Head on over to these blogs to check out more samples created for the wsc:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Have a wonderful weekend!

 

17 Responses to “beate’s weekend sketch challenge #45”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    Oh how sweet, Mary Jo! I’m sure they will LOVE it! That is such an adorable image and your card is just adorable!

  2. […] them!), I’m never disappointed and always inspired! Beate, Cambria, Charmaine, Jenn, Laurie, Mary Jo and […]

  3. jenn Says:

    How adorable and perfect!

  4. Beate Says:

    MJ, this is sooo cute! Gorgeous card. I bet they will love it!

  5. Love this adorable image, MJ — just perfect for your nurse friends! Love all the distressing you did here — fits what that cute bear perfectly!

  6. HOW CUTE IS THAT???? Totally adorable. 🙂

  7. Tonya Says:

    Ooooh..my sister is a nurse…and a new stamper…she’d love this! How cute.

  8. Ickle Pickle Says:

    Utterly gorgeous I love everything about it, well done 🙂

  9. Darling card and technique Mary jo. LOVE the sweet image and darling design! Have a wonderful weekend, Jennifer 🙂

  10. Conniecrafter Says:

    I love boyd bears too, i have a couple, she is sweet, and love all the distressing, Awesome card!

  11. Mary Jo, this is so gorgeous! I love the warm and fuzzy feel to it (just like a Teddy Bear)!! The frayed and sponged twill is perfect!! What a sweet and encouraging card…I’m sure they will love it!! 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Laurie

  12. ulrikam Says:

    You have made such a wonderful job with this card. It looks adorable!

  13. Marion Rivas Says:

    I am a Boyds bear collector, and I have alot of their stamps and many bears. This is a great card, love it. Wish I lived by Boyds country; but then I may not have money to buy stamps! 😉

  14. Janean C. Says:

    What a great card. I so love that image. My hubby is getting ready to enter into the nursing program at our local community college. At the age of 38, I give him a ton of credit. He’s got the union factory worker mentality and he’ll get through this but I don’t know if he really knows the challenges ahead. I will keep nudging him as I know that in the end, he’ll be much happier. We’re the type of family that likes to make a difference to someone and this is his ultimate goal. He’s in a job now where making a difference to someone isn’t always an option and he’s miserable. I’ve been looking for nurse supplies so that I can make him little nudge cards along the way. Would you be willing to work out a little trade and stamp me some of these on white CS and I’ll send you something in exchange? I hate to invest the money into the stamp as I’m not certain how much use it would get beyond a few cards here and there.

  15. Carey Says:

    I love it. I wish someone had given me something like this when I graduated. It has also given me some ideas. We have some of our techs graduating next year from nursing school. This is a great idea to welcome them into the profession. I have been a nurse for 28 years (I tell everyone I graduated with Florence Nightingale). It seems people now aren’t eating the new grads up like they did when I graduated. Your sweet card is testimony to this. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Cindy Major Says:

    Boyd bears!!! I didn’t know they were available as stamps! I only knew these through cross stitching – I’ve stitched a graduation Boyd bear for my sister when she graduated from high school… almost seven years ago, now.

    Love your card, it’s so full of charm!
    TFS!
    Cindy 🙂
    (cindy_canada)


Leave a comment