beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

shore do love Lauren’s sketch May 19, 2008

I had to give Lauren Meader’s sketch a try.  Love all the dimension to the layout of her sample.  With my little Ethan starting swimming lessons today, I had to go with a fun water theme. 

I have a huge fear when it comes to my children and our swimming pool.  I actually hate having a pool, but it was always a dream of my husbands.  One of those marital compromises…”You get the pool and I get a stamping ‘studio'”.  Needless to say, I stamp in our dining room…lol

Ethan is a fish.  I can’t turn my back for one minute (as no pool owner should).  We even have our pool 100ft away from our house with its own fence and double locks on the gates.  I still can’t trust Ethan.  So, swimming lessons it is. 

Here he is at 18months:

  See what I mean…no fears.  This instructor taught the kids to hold their breath and go under.  As where his current instructor teaches the kids how to float before anything else is taught. 

Here is Ethan today (4 years old) amazingly floating after 20 minutes:

  He makes me so proud:)  You must remember that swimming lessons don’t save lives….Parental supervision is still a must. 

Okay, now to my sample for the sketch:

  This sample is also a “tilt card”.  Charmaine Ikach created a tutorial on scs if you are interested.  What that means is that cute little crab turns.

  Like the tutorial suggests, I used a real red button from my bold brights assortment for behind the crab because a penny was too big. 

Here is a side view of the card to show you how this card works.  I used my coluzzle to cut a half circle for where the sun is.  Please refer to Lauren’s post for the directions to make this card.

STAMPS:  SU! Crab & Co.

CARDSTOCK:  Whisper White, Pumpkin Pie, Shimmery White, Bashful Blue, East Coast Prep DSP.

INKS USED:  Tempting Turquoise, Real Red.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Bold Brights Brads, Mat Pack, Real Red Striped Grosgrain Ribbon, Horizontal Slot Punch, Coluzzle Cutting System, 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punches, Bold Brights Buttons, Stampin’ Dimensionals.

Thanks for stopping by:)

 

26 Responses to “shore do love Lauren’s sketch”

  1. Fantastic card, MJ! How did you get your wavy pieces so perfect? You are so talented! Congrats again on your Artisan Award!

  2. I LOVE this card Mary Jo!!!! The way you did the water is so original – the different colors added in with the blue. Terriffic!!!

  3. Angie Tieman Says:

    Great card!!! That sun is super cool!!

  4. Just had to say that I know how to spell “terrific” 🙂 Pressed submit too quickly to catch myself.

  5. Sandra Smart Says:

    wow, what a really cute card this is!

  6. Dawn Easton Says:

    What a FUN card!!! It’s perfect…that sun is fabulous and then you made a tilt card out of it?! Amazing job!
    It’s my dream to have an inground swimming pool someday too but NOT living here…rofl…not enough warm weather for it and it’d be only used for two months 😦

  7. My babies were all water bugs too! They were practicaly swimming before they could walk! Only one Pisces of my 3 girls! You are a good Mom, I can tell! Hugs to you for that special job! Love, love your crabby card! I wish SU would come out with a clam bake theme set! I want a lobster stamp as cute as this crabby! Take care, hugs, Deb

  8. Kendra H Says:

    GREAT card! Every aspect of it is fantastic! I know what I’m making for my daughter’s summer birthday card – thank you for sharing your work!!!

  9. Bonnie Sharp Says:

    Oh my goodness! You are SO brave to sit and watch your kids in the pool! I used to have to walk away at their lessons, and peek around the corners, I was so worried for them, but they sure weren’t – and now they are fishes! Fabulous card – I need to try a “moving” card….

  10. Tara Says:

    such a cute and very summery card!

  11. Awesome card – I love the unique fold and the dimension – you obviously put a great deal of work into this one and it turned out FANTASTIC!!!!

  12. Charmaine Says:

    Oh Mary Jo, this is ADORABLE! I love that tilting crab. . .too cute!

  13. Jen Ofiana Says:

    We just got a pool last year and I totally agree, swimming lessons help but parental supervision is a must. I refused to get a pool until my youngest was old enough to know better and listen to rules. Now he knows that going in the backyard is a no-no without adults and we have double locks and chimes/alarms on our doors. And I love having a pool. It’s such great family time.

    And your card is so fabulous!!! I am drooling as usual!!

  14. Suzanne Dean Says:

    So cute! I just love that crab set–I think I’ll have to get it soon. I love what you did–I did Lauren’s challenge too, its on my blog if you want to check it out. I turned the card into a circus tent. Thanks–Suzanne
    http://www.scrapbitz.blogspot.com

  15. I love the opening for this card! Great idea and I cant wait to try something like this myself. TFS!

  16. Oh HOW adorable! I LOVE your waves!! Those are a super cool addition to the card. And of course your sun is HOT!!

  17. Jamie Says:

    this is soooo cute!!!

  18. OMG! Mary Jo you amaze me with the creations you come up with!LOL! This is just too cute! The crab is just soo cute! Love your dp waves!

  19. Kerry D-C Says:

    Omg! This is SO stinkin’ CUTE and CLEVER! la la la la looooooooooove it!

  20. Deb Kemp Says:

    OH MY GOODNESS! You never cease to amaze me.

  21. Emily N. Says:

    This is so wonderful! I just love the way you made your waves! Awesome, as always!

  22. Darling card Mary jo, LOVE the fun colors and detail.

    Thanks for sharing the pictures Mary jo, I can’t get over your little boy, what a little fish.

    Have a great week,
    Jennifer 🙂

  23. SUPAH card! I love the details of the waves! Beautiful work, and thank you for sharing this technique. I will be sure to try it the next time I need a card for a special person!

  24. Susanna Says:

    This card is AMAZING! You were runner up over at Card of the Week.com for this week’s Best of the Blogosphere. Check it out: http://www.cardoftheweek.com/2008/05/card-of-the-w-3.html

    Thanks for sharing this amazing card and technique with us!

  25. Joan B Says:

    Gorgeous with a capital G!!!

  26. […] great he is in his surfing skills. This card would not be made without visiting beautiful blog by Mary Jo Albright. Thank you for the […]


Leave a comment