beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Baby Carriage Bouquet June 24, 2008

A while ago, I was blown away by the most talented Lauren and her ability to create a baby onesie bouquet & cards in this post –>here<–.  I never get the opportunity to create for babies.  It seems like all my friends and family are past that stage.  When I went to work last weekend, there was a little slip of paper on my mailbox stating that I was to bring in a “secret gift” for an aid for nurse’s aid appreciation week.  My secret buddy is expecting and having a little girl in August.  I instantly thought of Lauren’s idea…yeah the opportunity to create baby stuff.  I was even more motivated because she’s naming her baby Morgan like my daughter:)

What to do with these $1 tins I found at Target??

Not wanting to do the exact same thing as Lauren, I had to find a way to utilize this tin.  I had one of those moments while driving….how about trying to make a baby carriage?  I am so pleased with the way this project turned out.  I had to take a step back when I was finished and decide if I wanted to give it away..lol.

 

Just an FYI, don’t ask the dimensions for the umbrella to the carriage.  I was playing around creating, trying to make it work, and didn’t write down any dimensions/score lines/etc.  And, if you do decide to re-create, it is likely that the dimensions to your tin won’t be the same:)

Here is an upclose of my flower bouquet inside the carriage:

  Rolled the onesies, added some Prima flowers, created leaves with a Sizzix Diecut and Machine.

Here is a pic of the whole package she’ll receive tomorrow:

I used MFT stamp set Congrats all Around for the Onesie Cards because she’ll need to have some cards on hand post-delivery for thank you’s or announcements if she wishes.  The card package contains 10 cards and envelopes with coordinating patterned paper belly band around the envelopes.  Ribbon is May Arts to continue the theme from the carriage to the card package.

Have a wonderful day and thanks for stopping by.

 

105 Responses to “Baby Carriage Bouquet”

  1. This is unbelievable, what a fantastic idea, it is gorgeous. The new Mom is going to love, love this!

  2. Becky Rusher Says:

    WOW! This is incredible! What a fabulous idea! She’s going to love it!

  3. Marie Says:

    This is so adorable, she’s going to love it!!! Did you hand-write “Baby Morgan”? If you did – your handwriting is amazing. The recipient is going to get the best gift in the group!!! 🙂

  4. Donna Baker Says:

    this is INCREDIBLY SWEEEET! I bet she will adore it

  5. Jenny Mick Says:

    Ahhhhh!! I LOVE that! Sooo cute!

  6. lacyquilter Says:

    This is absolutely adorable.

  7. Oh my gosh!! This is absolutely adorable. Your cleverness and ingenuity are just mind boggling. Love it, love it!

  8. Dawn Says:

    this is SO cute! how talented and clever you are! your gift is going to steal the show @ the shower!

  9. Holy smokes…I’m just as much in awe of yours as I was of Lauren’s. Amazing.

  10. Cheryl Curtis Says:

    You are so creative and clever – who would have thought. And this is why, once again, you deserve that artisan award.

  11. Stephanie C Says:

    WOW!!! That is all I can say!!! You are amazing! It is no wonder SU thinks so too!!! Great work!! I love it!!!

  12. OH my- this is absolutely stunning!!

  13. Sharon in NE Says:

    You’re so clever!!!

  14. Melissa Says:

    Unbelievably genius!

    Many Blessings,
    M.

  15. Kendra Giles Says:

    absolutely stunning Mary Jo!!!

  16. young c-m Says:

    Wow, this is incredible! Way to think outside the box! =)

  17. Angie Tieman Says:

    WOW! This just knocked my socks off! You never cease to amaze me! Those flowers look so real in that setting, can’t believe they are Primas! You rock, gf!

  18. dawn Says:

    Awesome gift, She will love it! I just might have to run to Walmart 🙂

  19. Kelly S Says:

    Awesome, what a fantastic idea and a fabulous gift!!

  20. Jill Kirk Says:

    Oh my gosh, that is the cutest thing EVER! I love it. I bought a ton of those tins from Target too…now I know what to do with them! I also loved your favorite things idea you did with it. You are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. Wow, this is beautiful. I’d have a difficult time giving it away too. Simply stunning!

  22. […] To read more about her crafty little creation and see more of her awesome work, go HERE. […]

  23. Amy Says:

    This is just too cute!

  24. Sue Jensen Says:

    This is adorable. I don’t know if I could give it away either. She will love it.

    sue

  25. Nicole Says:

    AMAZING!! 😀

  26. Wowza!! I love how you took an idea and totally made it your own. GREAT JOB!!

  27. Tamara Says:

    WOW!!!!! What a fantastic gift. I loved Lauren’s onsie bouquet, and this is just as GORGEOUS!

  28. Janette Says:

    Holy cow!!! This is absolutely amazing. TFS- I would love to try it.

  29. Kerry J. Says:

    This is jaw-droppingly amazing!!! I am in awe! Your “secret” recipient will be ecstatic!

  30. Toni Says:

    Holy Buckets! That is cute. I’ll have to remember that for the next shower that I am invited to attend. Although, I’m not sure that I could replicate it! Just beautiful!

  31. Melody Says:

    This so cute!!!!!!!!!!! and creative. The cards are a great touch. I would like to give it a try sometime.

  32. Mimi Hornberger Says:

    Wow! Wow! Wow! Did I say Wow!? This rocks! TFS! XO, Mimi

  33. Suzanne Dean Says:

    Too cute–love it! Definitely a “labor” of love on your part–lol! The whole project is beautiful-TFS

  34. Allison Says:

    This is so amazing. You are so talented, I would never have thought to do anything like this.

  35. OMG! Mary Jo your talent just blows me away! Love it!

  36. Emily N. Says:

    OMG! This is so completely amazing! LOVE it! You sooooooo rock, MJ! 🙂

  37. Lisa Says:

    Oh, Mary Jo, this is fabulous! I couldn’t even imagine making something so wonderful! If the aide knows you make such beautiful things, it won’t be a secret! Amazing work of art!

  38. Lynn Says:

    It is absolutelly ADORABLE!!!! I LOVE it!

  39. Sharon Holden Says:

    Absolutely stunning, a totally fabulous idea. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  40. Sheila Says:

    Holey Moley this is incredible. I absolutely love it so I can just imagine the recipients excitement when she sees this. Your talent amazes me. I’ve got to find someone expecting so I can try my hand at this.

  41. Cindy Says:

    WOW! This is just amazing. Your momma is just going to adore this!

  42. Heidi Says:

    How adorable. Do you have a template for the onesie cards that you can share with us?

  43. chickiez Says:

    This is the most amazing gift item I’ve seen thus far!! You really out did yourself on this one. Absolute awesome, creative idea!!! I know whoever gets this is going to love it!! TSMFS.

  44. Brilliant! That’s all I have to say!

  45. Susan Zbacnik Says:

    Awesome!!! You are very clever and creative and I love your work!

  46. kristin Says:

    MaryJO,
    This is AMAZING!!!!! I so love it! I am expecting a little girl this September, abd have 2 girlfriends expecting at the same time. I’ll definately be re-creating this for them! THis is the best!

  47. Lori A. Says:

    Wow!! That is SO stinkin’ cute! I love it!

  48. Pat Says:

    This is awesome! You should be very proud of yourself.

  49. Mary Says:

    Your work really is over-the-top remarkable. If this isn’t the FINEST gift your co-worker receives for Baby Morgan, then I’d be surprised! BEAUTIFUL!!

  50. Charmaine Says:

    Great idea! TFS.

    Charmaine

  51. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh my gosh, Mary Jo, you never cease to amaze me!!! What an incredible project!!! I can see why you’d be reluctant to let it go… 😉 It looks awesome! Love the matching cards, too!

    Cindy

  52. Susan Says:

    Mary Jo,

    How creative! You have outdone yourself. This is really adorable.

    Susan

  53. Charlene Says:

    Simply adorable…now to Target to see if they still have these tins! Would you consider writing a tutorial?

  54. becky - belledancr (SCS) Says:

    W O W

  55. Shona Says:

    this is a genious idea! I get those “aha” moments while driving too — although nothing this good! It’s a beautiful gift to give to your friend – I hope you made one to keep for yourself too!

  56. Michelle mallett Says:

    OMG these are so creative and the bomb!!!! You outdid yourself!!!!

  57. Susan G Says:

    This is just the cutest idea! My DIL is expecting so I’ll need to try to create one of these for her. Thanks so much for sharing.

  58. MaryJo Says:

    this is sooooo cute – you did a great job and she is going to absolutely LOVE this!!! I have some of these tins sitting around from Target – might have to case!!! Thanks for sharing

  59. Ann C. Says:

    If this was for me, I wouldn’t want to take out the onesies! What a charming present. You did a fabulous job – Soooo creative!

  60. diane Says:

    WOW, WOW, WOW! AND WHAT THEY ALL SAID ALREADY! THIS IS AWESOME…THANKS FOR SHARING, AND THE LADY WILL BE THRILLED!!! 😀

  61. cassie Says:

    wow – this is just incredible!!

  62. Karinn (Arinka) Says:

    Oh Golly! I almost fell out of my chair when I opened my email and saw this! It’s too adorable and creative for words!! I love, and I know your secret buddy will too :0) Thanks for sharing with all of us!!

  63. OMgosh, this is just fantastic!!!

  64. Taylor Says:

    Genius… pure genius!! I want to be you when I grow up!! 🙂

  65. Barb Foster Says:

    This is the cutest baby gift ever! So creative! Thanks so much for posting this.

  66. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Oh WOWZA!! That is fabulous!! I am totally in love with it!

  67. KAT Says:

    This is drop dead, to die for, absolutely wonderful! I would expect tears when you give this as a gift!!!

  68. Dorothy T Says:

    This is the most adorable creation! Thanks for the inspiration!

  69. Nancy Riley Says:

    Genius, pure genius!!!! Way to go, Mary Jo !!!!

  70. Lori Craig Says:

    Oh for the love of rubbah….. A*M*A*Z*I*N*G – again… 🙂 Now, I do have a question about this being a secret gift….I cannot image anyone else in your office who might be even half this paper-crafting goddess-y… how do you keep a precious, sweet gift like this a ‘secret’?

  71. Rachel M. Says:

    The baby carriage is so beautiful! Wow!

  72. Mary Jo, this has to be the most adorable thing I’ve seen in a long time. You are freakin’ Repunsil – spinning everything you touch to gold. I tagged you at http://www.cateredcrop.com. Hope you have time to join in the fun.

    Linda

  73. Kathleen Says:

    Unbelievable—that’s all I can say—UNBELIEVABLE! I LOVE it and it’s GOING to be repeated—I promise! THANKS for sharing!

  74. A.J. Says:

    That is by far the cutest baby gift I have ever seen!!!! You are so talented!! How special she will feel when she receives her adorable gift.

  75. SueB Says:

    MJ, that’s SO CUTE and I love how you coordinated the tin to the cards!

  76. LOVE this!! I have like 5 of those tins and I’ve been scratching my head wondering what in the world I’m going to do with them…but I had to have them because they were cute and they were ONLY a DOLLAR! LOL!

    Beautiful!

  77. All I can say is WOW! Double WOW! This is absolutely GORGEOUS, Mary Jo!

  78. Casey Says:

    WOW! I love it!! I wish I was this creative, also it’d be such a beautiful gift to receive, lucky mama 🙂

  79. HOLY COW, your baby carriage is just adorable. How long did that take to make? I am slowly lift my jaw off the floor. You are so amazing Mary jo and so talented.

    Thanks for sharing this precious project with all of us!

    Jennifer 🙂

  80. Conniecrafter Says:

    That is just downright adorable, very creative and stunning, you did a Terrific job, she is going to totally Love this!!

  81. Susanna Says:

    OK, you’re amazing!

    You were the Project of the Week at http://www.CardoftheWeek.com. You can check out the posting at http://www.cardoftheweek.com/2008/06/card-of-the-w-3.html

    Thanks for sharing your creativity with us!

  82. marilyn Says:

    thanks for sharing this idea…it’s too cute for words!

  83. Brooke S Says:

    That is one of the cutest altered project I have ever seen..WOW!

  84. Sue Says:

    SHUT UP!!!! This is adorable!!!

  85. Sandra Smart Says:

    This is ADORABLE! Great job!

  86. Sooooooooo incredibly CUTE!!!

  87. Libby Says:

    What an incredibly creative and adorable idea for these tins!! I have an extra one lying around, I think I may need to try this! (fyi I’m using two cute ones with flowers on them to store stickles and glitter on my desk…) 🙂

  88. Kim Says:

    MJ! This is the bomb!! Just like everything else you make!!

  89. Wow, wow, wow!!! What else can I say??? Fantastic job!

  90. Linda L Says:

    Oh my lord!!!…..I am blown away…that is just a stunning gift. I made just 1 onesie card the other day and it took me hours… and you’ve made 10!!!! Phenomenal:-)

  91. Wow, this is so cute! You did a great job, I bet she LOVES it!!

  92. Janna Hull Says:

    I love this idea!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have already made one for a family friend. I wasn’t able to find any of those cute tins left at Target or anywhere else for that matter so I bought loaf pans at the dollar store. The worked just great! Thank you so much again for this fabulous idea!!!!!!!!!!!

  93. Lorena Says:

    Mary Jo this carriage is too adorable for words, a tutorial was requested and now I wil BEG BEG BEG!! for more instructions too!! I mean this has got to be one of the absolutely cutest projects ever. so ppppppplease won’t you reconsider a help a sister out? thank you for your inspiration!

  94. Sophia Says:

    Gorgeous!!!!

  95. Erica Says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! What a wonderful gift to receive!

  96. THIS IS AMAZING!!!! Now I know what to do with all those tins I collected in the $1 spot!! Awesome work!!!

  97. Carol Sisk Says:

    Very pretty and such a great way to use those tins. I bought some of those in the dollar spot also. I will have to make some of these:)

  98. Karen Says:

    This is beyond cute. I love your work and am completely awed by this project. Lovely!

  99. […] those characteristics that are the foundation of the enduring appeal of the classic baby buggy.   Well done, M.J., well done!  (Follow the link and find directions to make your […]

  100. Wonderful article! We will be linking to this great article on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

  101. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital
    to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently
    fast.

  102. Mr.John Says:

    Unbelievable!! It’s great gift to mom.Is it hand made?i love it.thank you so much for the post.

  103. Mrs. Kate Says:

    Nice gift and it’s looks so beautiful in pink color.i love it.


Leave a comment