beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

You’re invited & Beate’s wsc#54 August 22, 2008

First, I’d like to announce an invitation for you to join me for a World Card Making Day Stamp Camp that will take place on October 4th, 2008 here in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.  Three very close friends/demos and myself have planned & organized a fun-filled event with ***AWESOME PROJECTS***.   The day will start with a provided Continental Breakfast.  Stamping fun is from 9am-1pm.  The cost to attend is $25.   Want to be my guest and get “stamp pampered”?  Contact me at mjplay613@comcast.net to guarantee your spot.  I will email you an invoice with all the details/directions.  I’d love to spend this day teaching and stamping with family and friends:)

How about a challenge?  Have you missed them?  Drum roll and a big welcome back to Beate’s weekend sketch challenges🙂  Here is what I came up with:

I just love pink coneflowers.  They are scattered throughout my flowerbeds.  When I received this set, I instantly wanted to re-create the flowers around my home.  How I did my petals:  applied Pink Pirouette ink to stamp; applied Riding Hood Red to the tip of my finger; starting at petals edge (furthest away from stem), I pulled my inked finger through the ink on the stamp; stamp on cardstock to get a watercolored realistic image with a unique pattern to the petals.  You can use whatever technique you’d like to achieve this look.  I’m one to use whatever I have to achieve a certain look…and that means walking around with red finger tips for 2 days lol.   See closeup below.

You can see more samples for Beate’s wsc at the sites of these very talented ladies:

Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, Laurie Schmidlin, Lori Craig, and Sharon Harnist.

Will be back in a little bit to post more:)

STAMPS:  Inspired by Nature

CARDSTOCK:  Riding Hood Red, Pink Pirouette, Whisper White, and Kiwi Kiss.

PATTERNED PAPER:  Bella Rose Designer Series Paper.

INKS:  Chocolate Chip, Kiwi Kiss, Riding Hood Red, and Pink Pirouette.

ACCESSORIES:  5/8″ Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbon, Crop-a-Dile, Coluzzle, Scallop Edge Punch, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch.

 

35 Responses to “You’re invited & Beate’s wsc#54”

  1. Donna Says:

    this is the BEST card I’ve seen with this set so far & now you have me re-thinking it. I am not particularly fond of solid images so you inspired me with this new way to use them. TFS!

  2. kim howard Says:

    Beautiful card, very creative technique for the watercolored look!

  3. jenn Says:

    Mary Jo. This is AMAZING. It looks like you PAINTED it. Just gorgeous!

  4. Just gorgeous, Mary Jo! LOVE the colors, the stamps. . .everything!

  5. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo, this is soooo beautiful! I love your 3D flowers. This stamp set is one of my favorites in the new catalog.
    Have a great weekend! Hugs and smiles

  6. Lori Craig Says:

    Oh. my! this is gorgeous, Mary Jo! Love your coneflowers. Truly a stunner! Have a wonderful weekend, sweet friend!

  7. […] to check out other samples from Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, Laurie Schmidlin, Mary Jo Albright and Sharon Harnist. Then I’m going to can some salsa…. Have a wonderful day! Posted […]

  8. Anita Says:

    WOW – Awesome card! Totally worth a red finger 🙂

  9. Amazing, MaryJo — love the look you achieved with this technique! Gorgeous card, I love the colors!

  10. Alyssa Says:

    Wow! This just jumps off the page! It is incredible! It is gorgeous! I must say that you captured the true look of the coneflower – fantastic :o)

  11. What a beautiful card! I love your technique for the petals. It looks so real.

  12. Your card is beautiful Mary jo! LOVE the gorgeous technique on the petals and the whole layout is just so pretty!!

    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Jennifer 🙂

  13. Well gosh darn it, I had convinced myself I didn’t NEED this set MJ…. darn you! See… this is why visiting your blog is dangerous. SHAZAM! You rock my world every time I visit! SO happy to back with you girls with Beate’s challenges! 🙂 Have a super weekend!

  14. Lisa Henke Says:

    another awesome WOW! card. love how this turned out MJ.

  15. Mary Jo, this is a beautiful card! What a fantastic technique. The petals look real. Great job!

  16. Monica Jantz Says:

    What a wonderful idea! LOVE these coneflowers too, waiting on mine to arrive! Awesome colors and card! hugs, Monica

  17. Dawn Says:

    As always, I love your cards, and this one is no exception! I love this set and haven’t stopped playing with it since convension, I’m going to go and case your now! Thanks for sharing!!!
    Dawn

  18. Jill Kirk Says:

    I so wish I lived in Pennsylvania…I bet your stamp camp will be awesome! I totally love this card. I will be making this one for sure. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  19. Krista Says:

    Your card is awesome ! Great colors and layout !

  20. Angie Says:

    WOW….this is absolutely beautiful.

  21. Cindy Harris Says:

    Beautiful card–I am always inspired by your work. Thanks for sharing!

  22. Lynn Says:

    WOW! Your card is amazing! I’ve been enjoying using this set too…will have to try your color combo & technique…LOVE it!

  23. Conniecrafter Says:

    Those flowers are so cool, the centers are perfect!

  24. Cindy Major Says:

    You always have the most amazing creations and ideas! I really like the texture it gave your flowers. Gorgeous card (as always)!

    TFS!
    Cindy

  25. lacyquilter Says:

    This is absolutely fabulous! I love it.

  26. GinaP Says:

    This is beautiful!! I really love those flowers. It makes me want that set!! lol

    Hey, I’m sure you’re busy, but I have an award for you on my blog, come check it out!

  27. joyk Says:

    Oh MY!!!! This is flat-out GORGEOUS!! Love the pink coneflowers and the technique you used to add the streaking….very realistic looking. Thanks for sharing!

  28. […] forget about my World Card Making Day Stamp Camp.  You can find information –> here […]

  29. cheryl Says:

    I just love what you did with this set. You gave it a whole new meaning. I can’t wait until mine gets here now!

  30. Jen Says:

    That card is so amazingly beautiful! Great job. I didn’t order that set but now I think I will just to make a card like yours!

    Jen
    jennifersalgat.blogspot.com

  31. Joanne Says:

    This is absolutely GORGEOUS!

  32. Aimee Says:

    I love this card and I’m dying to know how you did the cones on those gorgeous flowers…

  33. Me too. What Aimee said- how did you do the cones?

    Gorgeous, gorgeous card!

  34. This card is really pretty and I like the technique you used to get the watercolor look for the beautiful flowers!! WOW!! The design and the CS and DSP, all just go together to well!! You are truely an artist that inspires and encourages!!!
    Thank you for sharing so much of you!!
    Denise from OHio
    Phil4:13

    I wish I had know about you when I lived near Philly!!!
    ;~(


Leave a comment