beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #64 (and 63) October 31, 2008

Happy Friday & a big Happy Halloween! 

I feel so guilty when I can’t participate in one of Beate’s wsc.  I made it a high priority this week to get my sample done early.  Needless to say, I finished early with the wrong sketch (last weeks).  After trick-or-treating last night, I got started on the correct sketch…which means I now have two sketch samples to share.

For this weeks sketch, I wanted to create my own background paper to coordinate with the colors I wanted to use.  Here is what I came up with using SU! stamp set “A Beautiful Thing”:

You will definitely need to use your Stamp-a-ma-jig tool if you choose to case.  That was really the only time consuming feature of this card.  Once I finished stamping the flowers on my Whisper White cardstock, the rest of the card was really easy to complete.  The sentiment is from Chateau Bella Rub-ons.  I used some felt flowers to the middle of my stamped flower with a rhinestone brad from the Pretties Kit. 

Here is the card I made for last weeks wsc #63 featuring SU! “Seasonal Whimsy stamp set”:

This is not a card that I would have guests create at a workshop.  It would be displayed along with all my other cards.  Below is a similar card that I did have at a workshop this week for a bunch of my Harrisburg Hospital/Pinnacle Health co-workers that is rather easy (OMW..I had my first male guest at this workshop and he did a fabulous job).

Hope on over to the sites of these very talented ladies to see more samples for Beate’s wsc:

Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, Laurie Schmidlin, Lori Craig, and Sharon Harnist.

I will have some special SU! only christmas swaps to post in the near future.  I participated in Jami Sibleys swap.  You can find so many wonderful organized swaps at splitcoaststampers if you are looking to increase your display collection without having to own every single christmas stamp set out there:)

Enjoy your weekend and thanks for stopping by.

 

22 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #64 (and 63)”

  1. beate Says:

    MJ, all your cards look wonderful. I love the background you stamped on the first one. I sure looks like designer paper to me. I love how you stacked the flower center.
    Your second card is gorgeous. Love the cut out flower and the leaf and buttons next to it.
    What a wonderful workshop card the third one is. I bet everyone loved it.
    Have a great, not too stressful weekend! Hugs and smiles

  2. I LOVE all three cards, Mary Jo! They are all just BEAUTIFUL! Have a Happy Halloween!

  3. Lori Craig Says:

    I knew when I saw your message last night that I would love *all* of your cards that you posted today. 🙂 So pretty! love them! Really like the words on the ribbon, the linen tie on the side and your gorgeous flower! So pretty! Happy Halloween, friend!

  4. jenn Says:

    MJ, you always do such beautiful work! These are no exception. Love your little details that make everything perfecT!

  5. anna Says:

    MJ, did you use a punch to cut out the flower on the “You’re Sweet” card? They are all very beautiful samples. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Gail S. Says:

    I love the falling leaves! Such pretty cards! Happy Halloween.

  7. Well, whooo hooo for bonus posts today baby!! I feel like I won something! You rock girl…. and I’m sure Beate doesn’t want you feeling guilty, but I LOVE getting bonus cards from you… it makes my Friday THAT much better. BEAUTIFUL cards, as always babe. Have a fun and safe Halloween. 🙂

  8. Vicki Says:

    Wow!! What gorgeous cards!! Love what you’ve done with Beate’s sketch!! 🙂 Thanks for the extras and Happy Halloween!!

  9. Bev Says:

    Fantastic work on both counts MJ! I love the colors you chose for the A Beautiful Thing card! Fun, Fun! 🙂
    -Bev

  10. Rhonda K. Says:

    I love all of these! The first one before I read it I thought was DP…stamping all of those flowers added a great touch to your card…great color combo too!
    The Seasonal Whimsy cards are fabulous! Great job on all of them. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Lisa Says:

    Mary Jo…these cards are awesome! Love that background….WOW! Thanks for sharing your beautiful work!

  12. my first thought upon seeing your ‘A Beautiful Thing’ card was “Where oh where can I get some of that bg paper!!” who knew you made it yourself! WOWZERS! you are just so amazingly talented!

    the seasonal whimsy cards are great, too! that is one of my ‘fave but haven’t bought yet’ stamp sets. (there are soooo many on that list, don’t ya know! 😉 )

  13. Mary Says:

    How cute! I love the flower card with all of the pretty bright colors!

  14. These are all absolutely gorgeous. I never think to try making my own background paper. You are an inspiration!!

  15. Amy Johnson Says:

    Cute cards! I love the buttons, twine, and all the detail of the second card! Great job!

  16. I can’t even begin the imagine how long the background must have taken you, but it is wonderful. I love this set and your card really showcases it nicely.

  17. These are gorgeous cards MJ! I love all three of them! *STAMPIN HUGS* Alex

  18. Conniecrafter Says:

    Terrific job on your own background!! Love the harvest cards too, probably my favorites!

  19. Anyone ever told you that you may have a few screws loose up in that artistic noggin of yours? I can’t BELIEVE you stamp-a-ma-jigged ALL those flowers! That card is a stunner! Oh, and WHA? a male guest? I would give my eye teeth to have a guy come and stamp with my clubbers! Too fun! TFS!

  20. What a great idea to use the wide ribbon for the horizontal element in the sketch, Mary Jo — I love it! And your Seasonal Whimsy cards are beautiful . . . I love all the buttons! Way to catch up, girl, LOL!

  21. MelissaS Says:

    I love the Seasonal Whimsy set and you have done some adorable things with it! I love these cards!


Leave a comment