beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Stampin’ Up! Pop-Up Card Class March 29, 2009

Stampin’ Up! Pop-Up Card Class for the Harrisburg area is here.  Let me tell ya, I LOVE pop-up cards and books.  I have a nice collection of Children Pop-Up books….So, it is only natural for me to instantly fall in love with these 2 new dies (3-D Ball die & Three Tier 3-D Cake Pop-Up Dies) that will be available on April 1st from Stampin’ Up! 

Class date is April 13th & 14th.  You can view class details here

Ok!  Are you ready for this?  I’m so excited about what I’m going to show you.  This is one of 4 “WOW” cards you will make at my class:

stampin-up-demonstrator-harrisburg-1-11

stampin-up-demonstrator-harrisburg-2-1

I know!!!  Isn’t this just the cutest?  Whether you have a son who loves boats, or your significant other is serving our country…..this card is sure to bring a smile to someone’s face (and pop-up to surprise them). 

stampin-up-demonstrator-harrisburg-3-1

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope you are enjoying your weekend!

STAMP:  Boatloads of Love

CARDSTOCK:  Whisper White, Pacific Point, Kiwi Kiss, Riding Hood Red, Basic Black, and Shimmery White cardstock.

INKS:  Stazon Jet Black; Pacific Point, Riding Hood Red, Kiwi Kiss, Baja Breeze, Basic Black, Bashful Blue.

ACCESSORIES:  Stampin’ Up! Big Shot Die Cut Machine; Three Tier 3-D Pop-Up Cake Die; Crystal Effects; Sticky Strip; Linen Thread; Kiwi Kiss/Very Vanilla Satin Ribbon; Aqua Painter; Stampin Dimensionals; 1/2″ and 3/4″ Circle Punches; Small and Large Oval Punches; Slit Punch.

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!

 

64 Responses to “Stampin’ Up! Pop-Up Card Class”

  1. Lisa Page Says:

    That’s brilliant! I like the way you think. You did a superb job on the card!

  2. This card is absolutely amazing! I always find it so inspiring to visit your blog.

  3. Elizabeth Beasterfield Says:

    O-M-G! This is the CUTEST thing ever. ever, ever. Lol. This should be shared with all the SU demos out there and you should get an award. Love this! I had no use for a cake popup, but this….is…..adorable!! 🙂

  4. Kimberly J. Says:

    What an awesome card! You are so creative. I waited on getting these new dies, but after seeing your creation I need to get them!!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Holy smokes…you weren’t kidding when you said “wow” card. Amazing. Stupendous. Outrageous!!!

  6. Crazy how your brain works – “whole ‘nother level”! LOVE IT!

  7. Priscilla Says:

    Oh my gosh, what a creative use of the pop-up cake die! I love it, great job. :o)

  8. Jean Fitch Says:

    Wow! Talk about thinking out of the box (or out of the cake in this case). I knew that shape was reminding me of something and know I know what it was. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Dawn Says:

    How stinkin cute…

  10. elizabeth Glass Says:

    I can’t find the words! WONDERFUL……MARVELOUS…..WOW….
    GOOD GOLLY MS.MOLLY!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing! Elizabeth

  11. Virginia Says:

    OMG You are simply amazing no wonder you always win the artisan award.

  12. Wow Mary Jo! That is so much cooler than the Birthday cake it was meant to be. You are so incredibly creative!

  13. Fran Gottsch Says:

    I am awe struck. This is so awsome, right off the charts. SU needs to see this!

  14. bloggingjenn Says:

    Oh, MJ – this is about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!! I can say I wasn’t overly enthused with the pop-up die, but you’ve made a believer out of me! Wonderful!!

    ~Jenn

  15. Wow! I am so glad that Peg sent me a link to your blog. I would have never thought to use the cake for a boat! This is what’s fun about designing dies – seeing where people take them. You are AWESOME! OK, so now I challenge you to improve on my “upside-down cake becomes a flower pot” version (on my blog) and another idea I had (but can’t find time to work on): three of the same-sized tiers becomes a tower – could this be a soda can? Leaning tower? A person wearing a barrel? I’d love to see what you come up with!

  16. wow, Wow, WOW!!! I just love this out of the box thinking! Great job and thanks so much for sharing.

  17. Connie Says:

    Oh my GOSH! You are SO creative! I almost love this more than the cake! I didn’t think I wanted the 3D die…but now I think it is on my list.

  18. Karen Says:

    What an amazing card!! I do think it would make any recipient smile to open it! :>

  19. Mary Says:

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!!!!!!! OMG this is TOO CUTE for words!!!
    GENIUS I tell ya. TFS

  20. Desiree Says:

    You probably here this all the time… but you are a creative genius!!!!

  21. Carol Says:

    Here’s what’s funny–that pop up mechanism is CALLED the boat, but did I ever MAKE a boat? Nooooooo.

    Really, really fantastic!

  22. 2stampis2b Says:

    Shut UP! My cake die will not be a cake anymore…there are so many other possibilities now that you’ve got me thinking! Very cool! Thanks for sharing!

  23. Jenn Brown Says:

    I have always been impressed with your crafting abiliites. This card is no exception! Way to think outside of the box, or cake, if you will! Let’s see what else we can all come up with for this now that our eyes have been opened! Thank you for sharing!

  24. Sara Langland Says:

    WOW! Just WOW! My mouth is gaping–I wish the creative side of my brain had a tenth of the power of yours. You are amazing. Truly one of a kind!

  25. Crystal Says:

    WOW!! Fantastic idea…you are so creative. Love looking at your site and your creations!

  26. katie Says:

    This is truly inspired. What an awesome use of this die. Great job, thanks for sharing.

  27. Caiti Says:

    Wow! My husband is in the Navy and this would be great to make for him!!!!! I think I’ll need to purchase the dies 🙂

  28. RuthieB Says:

    I yelled out “Oh my Lord, have Mercy!” when I saw this and everyone in the room wanted to know what was wrong LOL!!!!! Of course, when I said it was stamping related they went back to their regularly scheduled activities LOL! Seriously, you are SOOOOOO creative and I am so glad to see another use for this. Now I can see it as a Noah’s ark and all sorts of things!!!!!
    Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

  29. Sharon Says:

    This is ADORABLE! I hadn’t convinced myself that I needed this die — but you’ve just about pushed me over the edge. 🙂 Love the Noah’s Ark idea, too.

  30. Megan Call Says:

    You are incredible! I don’t know how you come up with these things!

  31. terri Says:

    I just had to comment on this card. It is exceptional – I do not really care for the cake die, but what you have done with it is amazing. Thanks for everything that you share.

  32. Sue Says:

    WOWSA! This is sooo coool….I’m now convinced!!
    I have another idea….will order the die and see what I come up with LOL Thanks for being so inspiring!

  33. Maureen W. Says:

    Holy crap!! What a super creative way to use that die!! You are a total genious!!

  34. Wow ! Your card is fabulous ! The boat inside, it’s a good idea !

  35. MaryR Says:

    Oh for the love! THis is gorgeous! It’s a gorgeous amazing card and then you made this amazing ship from the cake die – love it!

  36. rhondag Says:

    Wow! You rock yet again! TSMFS!

  37. Ruth Norton Says:

    Wow, that is so creative! Great job, I love it!

  38. Angie Says:

    OMG! Ok I didn’t want the die … NOw I do … you are an amazing artist. LOL … darn it… why oh why do I have to come to your site… oh yeah… I am addicated to your great work. =O)

  39. Tami K. Says:

    OH MY GOODNESS … this is so cute! I was happy to see one of my sets that doesn’t see much ink used by you, but then when I continue to scroll down and see what you did with the cake pop-up … WOW! So creative you are … great great great idea! TFS with us wanna-be’s!!
    -Tami

  40. Merry Says:

    Now that is just awesome!!!!!! I would have never thought to do that with this die but now that I see it, I can’t imagine not doing it!!!! You are SO creative-thank you SO much for sharing your creativity with all of us 🙂

  41. Mary Says:

    I just had to comment on this as well — absolutely amazing!! You just keep raising the bar… Thanks for sharing your genius!

  42. OMG, You have out done yourself. This is SO CUTE.

    WOW ;0)

  43. Mona Says:

    Mary Jo, your attention to detail is always amazing! You have a true gift from God. When did you learn that you were creative? Did you excel in art your entire life? I admire your work and I just know that you must be talented in other creative ways…and I want to know the depth of your creativity. You are an inspiration to all of us!!! Thanks for sharing your ideas. Hugs, Mona

  44. Karen Says:

    Seeing this without “Artisan Award winning entry” next to it just makes me wonder what you have in store for this year’s entry…dancing girls popping out of the cake to the tune of “Happy Birthday?” You are amazing! Thanks so much for sharing!

  45. Cindy Major Says:

    I was so impressed with you on this one! Your ability to see past the obvious use of a tool and to create something entirely new with it is pretty amazing. Has SU! seen this one? Such a great way to breath new life into this stamp set!

    Thanks for sharing and I hope your class is a huge success!

    Cindy

  46. Jodi Says:

    I had zero interest in that 3D cake die, but that ship is super cute!

  47. I LOVE THIS! Wow! I wish I had talent like yours!

  48. […] Stampin’ Up! Pop-Up Card Class Stampin’ Up! Pop-Up Card Class for the Harrisburg area is here.  Let me tell ya, I LOVE pop-up cards and […] […]

  49. OH my-lanta! Your boat is as cute as cute can be! You never cease to amaze me with your creativity. Thanks for sharing!

    ~Lois

  50. Karen Says:

    Your pop-up ship ought to push up the SU sales for the cake die, and yours as well. If California wasn’t so far from you, I’d sign up for your class. I’m curious to see the other pop-ups you have planned. Love your creativity!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TFS

  51. Denise Says:

    MJ,
    This is the most fabulous creation. Ditto to all comments.

  52. Trish Says:

    Hallelujah!! That is too much, way too MUCH!! I mean,
    WHO would ever think of this??? A pure and utter genius that’s who. How DID you think of making a ship out of a pop up cake? LOL
    I just have to laugh at my lameness because I’ve created
    2 pop up cakes with my die and thought I was being very crafty! But this…… WOW!!

  53. Ann Says:

    Too cute! Question, how do you make it into the shape of a boat without making the boat round? Inquiring minds want to know. If I could take your class I would be there in a heart beat, but I live in Chicagoland. 😦 Is there a possibility that you could just email or post a tutorial on making the boat shape that would be wonderful!
    Stampin’ Smiles from Ear to Ear,
    Ann 🙂

  54. dianne Says:

    so cute! I love pop up books and have a collection of them too!!!
    How inspiring and a great reason to buy the cake die now!

  55. WoW nice job!
    love love love it!
    there are so not enough boy cards out there!!

  56. Joan Hajek Says:

    Mary Jo your pop up cards are absolutely amazing!!!! You blow my mind with your talent! I tried to make a card with the cake for my Dad, but did something wrong with the way I taped down the layers……….will need to perfect it before I dare attempt something like this!!! WOWSER!

    Joan

  57. Fara Says:

    Hi 🙂

    My name is Fara and I’m from Malaysia.

    I have an event somewhere in 1st week of June 2009 and would like to have a gigantic pop up book for a gimmick presentation.

    Basically there will be an invited person officiating the event by opening up the big pop up book. Once it’s opened, it will reveal a family theme.

    The tagline is something like ‘good family will make a good society’

    I love the way you did the card and am wondering if you can do it, and if yes, how much would it be for let say… A2 size or bigger (when it is still close and double the size when it is opened)

    Appreciate if you can reply to this a.s.a.p

    Warmest Regards,
    Fara

  58. […] another pop up die site. ship __________________ CarmenStamping […]

  59. Kim Tate Says:

    Absolutely fabulous. I love them. How can I find out how to do these? I am in Canada.

  60. Amazing card.!!!!!
    WOW!! great idea…you are so creative.

  61. ozrina Says:

    amazing card

  62. Cristina Says:

    Dear Mary!
    This popaup card is marvellous and it is just what I need for my best friend who will marry on 10 june and to whom me and other friends will give a cruise to Barcellona as honeymoon!
    Can you help me?
    I’m from Italy, please let me know if you can make and send it to me, and the price…. It will be fabulous!
    Thank you so much!


Leave a comment