beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Merry Christmas & Give Thanks! November 6, 2009

Happy Friday.  Today I have two cards to share.  I KNOW!!!!  I got to do some stamping Thursday morning.  I liked the sketch so much that I decided to make a Thanksgiving and Christmas greeting.

These cards are made for Beate’s wsc105.  Hope you can play along this weekend.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-1-1

I love the elegance of this card.  I already know the perfect recipient for it.  I used Stampin’ Up!’s Serene Snowflakes stamp set on Bella Bleu Designer Series Paper.  I used Holiday Best Hostess Level I stamp set for the main sentiment/image.  These combinations work so well together.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-3-1

For the focal point, I used a chipboard circle covered in dsp and sanded edges using my sanding block.  I applied Sahara Sand ink to the image and used a Chocolate Chip marker to color in the bird.  I stamped this on Very Vanilla cardstock and punched out using my 1-3/4″ Circle Punch.  I inked up the image again in Sahara Sand ink and stamped on Very Vanilla cardstock.  Restamped over the image with the Champagne Shimmer Paint.  Stamped a final time using Not Quite Navy ink and cut out just the “Merry Christmas” sentiment box.  Cut out my banner sentiment tag and adhered with Mini Glue Dots and a Mini Library Clip

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-4-1

The above picture is an upclose to show you just how elegant the Shimmer Paints are (and a must have in my opinion).  This is the first opportunity I have had to play with the paints.  I had so much fun…and added a touch of shimmers to my hands, face, and clothes:)  Don’t worry!  It’s subtle and cleans up so nicely.

The next card is for Thanksgiving.  I can honestly say that I don’t send out handmade greetings for this holiday…I would if I hosted our family dinner at our home.    So, my thoughts are that it’s always good to have a “Give Thanks” card on hand.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-5-1

The colors of this card are just so warming and beautiful together.  I changed it up a bit by adding a squared frame to my circle main focal point.  Using the same stamp set I used in my Merry Christmas card,  Holiday Best Hostess Level I stamp set, I got a totally different style…but just as nice.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-8

I used a Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, and Taken With Teal marker to create my sentiment on Very Vanilla cardstock.  I sponged the edges with Chocolate Chip ink.  I adhered this punched out circle to a piece of patterned paper from Autumn Meadows Designer Series Paper.  I simply could have layered this piece onto a larger piece of Chocolate Chip cardstock, but I wanted a frame.  So, using a 1/2″ larger in size piece of Chocolate Chip cardstock, I paper-pierced and used an exacto knife to cut out…making my frame (just adds the right amount of dimension to my focal point). 

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-7-1

Above is un upclose picture of the bottom of my “Give Thanks” card.  I continued the theme from the main sentiment focal point to the bottom of the card for balance. 

Want to see more samples for wsc105?  Head on over to see what these talented ladies have created:  Beate for details and sketch, Cambria, Charmaine, Jenn,  Lori, and Sharon.

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!  WANT TO RE-CREATE?

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-2-1

MERRY CHRISTMAS CARD:

STAMP:  Holiday Best Level I Hostess set and Serene Snowflakes

PAPERS:  Kraft, Very Vanilla, and Chocolate Chip cardstock; Bella Bleu Designer Series Paper

INKS:  Sahara Sand and Chocolate Chip.

ACCESSORIES:  Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint; Mini Library Clips; Vintage Brads Assortment; Chocolate Chip Taffeta Ribbon; On Board Lots of Letters (circle); 1-3/4″ Circle Punch; Sanding Block.

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-6-1

GIVE THANKS CARD:

STAMP:  Holiday Best Level I Hostess set

PAPERS:  Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, and Very Vanilla cardstock; Autumn Meadows Designer Series Paper

INKS:  Chocolate Chip, Really Rust, and Taken with Teal Markers

ACCESSORIES:  Button Latte Designer Buttons; Fresh Favorites I Colored Buttons; Linen Thread; 1-3/4″ Circle Punch; 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch; Mat Pack; Paper-Piercing Tool.

 

16 Responses to “Merry Christmas & Give Thanks!”

  1. Lori Craig Says:

    MJ, these are so pretty. Love the blues of the Christmas card. Glad you are back to a stamping routine. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Well, YOU GO GIRL!! Both are totally gorgeous!! Love all the details. Have a super weekend MJ!

  3. Beate Says:

    MJ, I am so glad you had time to play. Both of your cards are drop dead gorgeous! Your attention to detail is amazing!
    Have a great weekend
    Hugs and smiles

  4. Stephanie P. Says:

    Love them both, but I especially find the Christmas card focal point absolutely lovely, and clever!

  5. Rhonda Miller Says:

    Those are some beautiful cards. I love the colors and the sentiments. TFS.

  6. Lisa Meyers Says:

    WOW- these cards are so elegant! Just love your work. Lisa

  7. shawne Says:

    Both cards are beautiful, they look so different by changing the embellishments, love that!

  8. Tonya Says:

    Both cards are super lovely but the Christmas one is my fav! I adore the details on the card. The ribbon and bow, the clip…it’s just stunning!

  9. Leigh Says:

    Oh wow, both cards are just absolutely fantastic. I love the Bella Bleu dsp one.

  10. OMGoodness, I love these papers, colors, and stamps, MJ — fabulous cards!! And shimmer paints? Gorgeous!!

  11. Corel Says:

    I like how your blog is laid out I have bookmark this look forward to seeing more.

  12. MJ, both of these are just GORGEOUS! WOW!

  13. Stella Says:

    These cards are simply STUNNING!! I love the combination of the colors, patterns and subtle stamping!

  14. Lisa Dolson Says:

    Mary Jo, your cards are delightful. I hadn’t been to your blog in a long time and very much enjoyed your posts. Your previous project for a chocolate lover was so fun. Take care.

  15. Cindy Major Says:

    Hi, Mary Jo

    I was wondering if you were back blogging and you are back full force! Those two cards look incredible and are full of the lovely details you never fail to include in your creations. I think the sentiment block on the first one is my fave part: the cool colors, the shimmer, the mini clip, the layered banner… It’s good to have you back!

    Cindy 🙂

  16. ali Says:

    i love love love your work- so precise, never crooked, your eye to colors is amazing, your embellishments keep me looking at each piece for a long time- one question:how DO you tie those teensy bows in your buttons?


Leave a comment