beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Spring Flowers February 25, 2010

Here in Pennsylvania, we have had record snow fall this month.  We are expecting another snow storm to hit the area any time now.   I don’t mind the snow if I can stay at home with my family.  That hasn’t been the case…the snowfall seems to coordinate with my work schedule (you get no slack when you work in a hospital).   With that being said, I’m ready for spring.  While I can’t control what it looks like outside, I can bring a touch of spring indoors.

PROJECT #1:  The Crocus flower is my way of telling that spring is right around the corner.  I love these cute little flowers.  I researched all the types, all the colors, and studied their shape.  After gathering my information, I got started making my Paper Crocus planter.

I used Stampin’ Up!’s Small and Large Oval Punches for the Crocus petals.  My color palette for this project is Whisper White,  Rich Razzleberry, and Crushed Curry. 

Aren’t these flowers  just so delicate and beautiful to look at?  I’m so happy with the way my paper Crocuses turned out:)  

  

It did take a long time to cut out Old Olive cardstock to create the grass bedding for the base of this arrangement.  I wanted to create a plush dense grass base.  This helps with the shapes…the transition from the white ceramic planter up to the grass is smooth and easy on the eyes/easy to look at, making you focus up on the flowers.

PROJECT#2:   Since I love creating projects that are bright and eye-catching, I had to create another paper flower arrangement.  This flower is a late spring bloomer called ‘Allium Giganteum’.  This flower is purple….the great thing about papercrafting is that I can make my flower whatever colors my heart desires.

My original vision was to create three of these beauties.  Well, after 2 hours of pinning tons of little flowers to just one single styrofoam ball, my plans changed.  So I left the other two little pots with just the Old Olive grass.

There are approximately 250 small flowers used above to create this flower.  My color palette for this project is Old Olive, Melon Mambo, Pumpkin Pie, and Bermuda Bay.  Several types of Designer Series Papers were used (supplies listed at end of post). 

    

It took hours to create these projects.  I had lots of cardstock pieces all over the place when I was creating the Crocuses.  I wasn’t paying much attention to my environment while creating and my little Ethan somehow managed to take some pieces of cardstock and created a little flower for me.  It’s definitely those little things that matter.  I probably won’t have these paper florals a month from now, but I will DEFINITELY have the little flower he created for me forever!  Look at his little flower below……

Have a wonderful day!

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN UP:

PROJECT #1:  Whisper White, Rich Razzleberry, Old Olive, Crushed Curry, and Pumpkin Pie cardstock; Rich Razzleberry 1/2″ Polka-Dot Grosgrain Ribbon; Small and Large Oval Punches; Word Window Punch.

PROJECT #2:  Melon Mambo, Bermuda Bay, and Pumpkin Pie cardstock; Kaleidoscope, Razzleberry Lemonade, Sunny Day, and Welcome Neighbor Designer Series Papers; Big Shot Die-Cut Machine; SU! Floral Fusion sizzlits die; SU! Birds & Blooms sizzlits die; Boho Blossoms Punch; Old Olive 1/4″ and 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon.

 

55 Responses to “Spring Flowers”

  1. Lisa Meyers Says:

    I am speechless- they are GREAT!!

  2. Karen H. Says:

    Wow oh wow! Those are fantabulous!

  3. Barbara Dykhouse Says:

    I was just stunned when I started to read and realized that the crocuses were paper! I am actually at a loss for words Mary Jo. You are just amazing, as are your creations!

  4. Fran Sabad Says:

    There are amazing! We have another snow day here today so it’s such a nice treat to see these beautiful flowers!

  5. Laura Says:

    Utterly amazing! You are so inspiring and talented! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Charlene Says:

    So lovely! I thought the crocus flowers were real…and you cut all that grass! Amazing. How precious is Ethan’s little blossom! A keeper.

    We have the same faucets, now if I could just borrow some of that talent!

  7. Great projects! Bless you for your patience in pinning all those flowers to the styrofoam ball. The crocuses are stunning. AND I just LOVE Ethan’s flower!

  8. Stasia Sloma Says:

    all i can say is wow, what an amazing job! the flowers are absolutely beautiful

  9. Oh my goodness Mary Jo! This is like CRAZY FANTASTIC! Crazy cause I cant believe you took the time to make all that grass…WOW! Fantastic cause it is unbelievably fantastically gorgeous!!!! WOW! I was blown away! 🙂

    I am in awe! 🙂

  10. Wow! And this is why you continue to be Artisan Award winner!! Lovely! If you need someplace to send them, it’s my BD today! A long-lasting bouquet like this would be lovely! TFS!

  11. Terry Says:

    Mary Jo, this is absolutely gorgeous.
    I would love to try this…..BUT…..I think for now I’ll put the pictures on my pc desktop. What better way to admire them.
    You are so talented. Thank you for sharing your marvelous talents with us.

  12. Chera Wiest Says:

    Hey MJ- These are breathtaking! … I will keep a spot clear on the bar for them when you tire of them (wink wink).

    I have finger cramps imagining all the cutting of grass. Totaly WOW factor!

    As usual, you rock it girl!

    Chera

  13. regina Says:

    wow wow wow wow wow…..this is beautiful………..

  14. Sue Duffy Says:

    Oh my goodness! These are just wonderful, Mary Jo. Thanks for showing us what can be done (if we had half your talent and patience, that is).

  15. Marlene Salvato Says:

    You are truly an artist – I never leave comments but your flowers are so magnificent I just couldn’t not let you know – you made my day!!

  16. Carollee Says:

    It is projects like these that make me sit back and just say WOW!!!!! They are just beautiful and so creative. Eathan’s little flower is so precious, he did a great job!

    Thanks for sharing, I am just amazed!

  17. Allison B Says:

    So beautiful! I don’t think I would have the patience for this! Any chance on a tutorial for both projects?

  18. Staci Lynch Says:

    Wow, these are stunning! AWESOME!!

  19. emileehathaway Says:

    No wonder you are the artisan winner each year! Holy cow, these are amazing and so creative!
    Thank you for all your inspiration!

  20. Elaine Moore Says:

    Your crocus planter is absolutely stunning!! Is there a tutorial running around inside your head that you’d like to share with us?????
    Elaine M – mtn.moven.faith@comcast.net

  21. Julie Says:

    What a beautiful thing to share with us on such a rainy winter day. These are truly amazing.

  22. Michelle Says:

    WOW! incredibly gorgeous!

  23. Michelle Says:

    just an afterthought…. instead of cutting all the grass by hand could you use a paper shredder?

  24. Lauraline Says:

    Amazing! I have to try this for Spring. Thanks for the idea!

  25. Lorie Says:

    Wow, those are incredible! Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

  26. Sue Duffy Says:

    Mary Jo – Sorry – I forgot to inquire in my previous comment and could not find an email address for you here or on your SU! DBWS – what adhesive(s) do you use for these wonderful projects and are the crocuses mounted on lillipop sticks? Thanks, MJ.”

  27. Cindy Major Says:

    I am so, so impressed with those. They are original, unique and exquisitely crafted! What a great way to liven up your house. (We have a thunderstorm with 100 km/hr winds today so I am enjoying the burst of Spring in your pictures myself.)

    Thanks for sharing, and have a wonderful weekend!
    Cindy

  28. Wow – absolutely gorgeous!! You did a fabulous job. And the flower that your son made for you is just so sweet. 🙂

  29. Jacki Says:

    Absolutely beautiful Mary Jo! Wow. I imagine they really did take hours to piece together. Enjoy these until the snow melts!!

  30. Anthonette Says:

    Stunning creations! You rock!

  31. Girl, you are simply amazing. Love these and Alexis says, “You are the BEST!”

  32. Heidi Says:

    Hi

    Love your flowers and just had to tell you! They definitely uplifted me today – thank you!

  33. Shelley Says:

    Absolutely Amazing! You are such an inspiration. Thanks for sharing.
    Sounds like you are getting our weather (it’s been pretty mild here) hopefully it lets up soon.

  34. marniemiller Says:

    This is fantastic! And I’m not trying to rub it in, but here in Vancouver (home of the 2010 Olympics), we’ve had crocuses and daffodils for almost 2 weeks now!! But I’m going to try this project to keep them “fresh” for a long time! Thanks for sharing!

  35. Joanne Says:

    Your flowers are stunning!! I enjoy your creativity so much – thanks for sharing. And Ethan’s flower — well it touched a very soft spot in my heart – thanks for sharing something so precious!

  36. I had to do a double take on these pictures. I didn’t realize at first that the crocuses were paper. Awesome! I really like that you shared Ethan’s flower with us. My kids are always running off with my art supplies and making things for me. LOL.

  37. Veronica Says:

    This is absolutely beautiful and a tutorial would be greatly appreciated. Our family has decided to give one another handmade gifts instead of store bought due to the economy. I know my mom would cry if I was to give one of these handmade bouquets. Any help will be awesome.

    75rosas@gmail.com

    Thanks!

  38. Jill Says:

    MJ, these are incredible! I am so impressed and can’t imagine the time it took to make these beautiful bouquets. Wish I could have that little bit of spring here in snowy SD. Thanks for sharing!

  39. WOW – these are phenomenal! So exquisite! I adore the one Ethan made for you, it made my heart melt. 🙂

  40. Loralee Says:

    I had to look twice… I thought they were the real thing at first!

    LOVELY!!!

  41. Cindy Major Says:

    Well-deserved win! Congrats!! I still can’t believe you cut and assembled all that grass and those petals…

    Cindy 🙂

  42. Amy Says:

    The projects are fabulous but I am also really amazed by your beautiful and clean kitchen! Wow! how in the world do you do that?

  43. Desiree Says:

    FABULOUS! It would be lovely if you could give a few hints as to how you made the crocuses…

    Did you use dowels or popsicle sticks for the stems? Is the grass individually stuck in flower foam?

    Maybe a couple super close up shots would be helpful as I know tutorials take up a ton of time.

    Thanks in advance! You are awesomely talented!!!

  44. els Says:

    Good combination of colour..
    🙂

  45. Christina Says:

    These examples are so beautiful. It has inspired me to make project 2 to go on the half-wall between our kitchen and dining room once we move into our new house at the end of the month. Thank you for sharing.

  46. sandra Says:

    AMAZING…… I would love the tutorial if possible

  47. Beautiful and inspiring!

  48. Sam Morris Says:

    WOW! Just found your blog while surfing other blogs and gosh am I glad I did! These crocuses are amazing, I almost couldn’t believe they’re not real flowers! Simply stunning 🙂

  49. Robbie Says:

    These are absolutely beautiful! I love the crocus one. What a great home decor item for the spring!

    Robbie

  50. Karen Gagnon Says:

    Mary Jo, wow – i am simply amazed at the beauty of your flower creations! I am inspired to make something with flowers after seeing your photos! Would you share the tutorial for the crocus? Thanks, Karen

  51. Hi Mary Jo,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m so thrilled I won this year, I hope you will enter again next year. I love your fabulous creations.


Leave a comment