beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

this is called “simple snowman”?? October 17, 2007

Well, I had trouble using this Simple Snowman stamp set … and it wasn’t all that simple for me.  I guess the basic images within the stamp set are simple, but trying to make it all work, and the odd dimension to the snowman…it was a challenge.

Here is my creation for SCS sketch challenge 146:

simple snowman scs sc146

I wanted to use “non-traditional” holiday colors for this card.  Due to all the details of the stamp, I had to come up with a combo that had at least 4 colors that all coordinated…yep, that was challenging as well for a christmas card.

The card base is not a standard size due to me playing around trying to make the main image work and not look like it would take over the whole card front.  Card base is Close to Cocoa CS measuring 4-1/4″ x 10″ folded in half.  I layered a strip of Certainly Celery Prints DSP measuring 3″ x 4-1/4″ and Soft Sky Prints DSP 1-1/2″ x 4-1/4″.  The scalloping to the Soft Sky strip was created with my Coluzzle.  I then stamped snowflakes going diagonally across the card with Versamark, added White EP, then heated to set.  I took my Color Spritzer Tool and a Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Write Marker and followed the pattern of the snowflakes and gave a little spritz of color.  Added a small strip of Rose Red Prints DSP to upper right corner with a brown button from Earth Elements & Neutrals Colored Buttons, Linen Thread, and a Mini Glue Dot to secure.

simple snowman scs sc 146

The main image was stamped on Confetti White CS measuring 2-1/2″ x 2-7/8″.  Matted on Purely Pomegranate CS 2-5/8″ x 3″, Close to Cocoa CS 2-3/4″ x 3-1/8″, then Soft Sky CS 2-7/8″ x 3-1/4″.  Stamped image with Stazon Jet Black.  Used Aqua-Painter to watercolor.  Classic Stampin’ Pads used were Purely Pomegranate, Certainly Celery, Soft Sky, Close to Cocoa, Bashful Blue (for shadowing behind snowman).  Sponged egdges of Confetti White CS piece with Soft Sky ink.  Traced arms of snowman with Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Write Marker.  Added small strips of Soft Sky Prints DSP to scarf, and to the hat.  Restamped “Peace” on the assortment of Prints DSP already mentioned, cut out, and attached “P”, “A”, and last “E” to image with Mini Glue Dots.  Used monoadhesive to attach the first “E” and “C”. 

Lastly, added Purely Pomegranate Double-Stitched Ribbon to bottom of card, and a small Soft Sky Double-Stitched Ribbon tab to the right side of main image.

TFL:)

Just when I thought I was done creating for the day, the mail is delivered.  And poof….received my first 4 stamp sets from MFT.  My mind has been brainstorming ever since I ordered them and created my SU! version of the headless chicks:)  Can’t wait to see what I can do with them.  Don’t worry, I’m still loyal to good ol’ Stampin’ Up! — I just want to explore other stamps that are out there.  (Having a love for a hobby.. past-time.. addiction -LOL).
 

15 Responses to “this is called “simple snowman”??”

  1. Renée Says:

    Wow! Love this!! I really like the colours and detail you have.

  2. Elizebeth Says:

    This set was on my list for a long time, I really loved all the possibilities of it. You made it really sing, this is an awesome card!

    You’ll have to share with us what MFT stamps you got. Im uber loyal to SU! but just love all the coloring you can do with MFT.

    I’m sure it wont be long before Kim asks you to be a design member for MFT, if she hasnt already.

  3. ginna Says:

    Well you succeeded.. This is just beautiful!

  4. Love your snowman card, your work is wonderful! Congrats on your challenge win over at Beate’s! Deb

  5. Melissa Says:

    All your hard work paid off because it turned out beautifully!

  6. Pegg Says:

    Can’t wait to see your MFT cards! I have one set from them and I love playing with it. I like variety ! 🙂

  7. JanTink Says:

    Sigh…you are making this set look too stinkin’ cute to resist…probably just as well I haven’t finalized my latest order…must rethink now…crap…

  8. Angie Tieman Says:

    What a super duper cutie!! He looks so happy and fun, I love the colors and layout!

  9. Tara Says:

    You did a fantastic job…I love the card and colors you chose…super cute!!

  10. Catherine Says:

    Just had to stop by and let you know that I really loved what you did with this card, loved the colors you used and the layout :)!

    Hugs,
    catherine
    http://www.mystampinggrounds.blogspot.com

  11. corie Says:

    I love this card — WOW, and you said it was difficult — This is FANTASTIC

  12. Laura Says:

    You did an amazing job on this little snowman…so many awesome details!

  13. Oh how cute is that??
    Love the details. WAY cute. I love that set. Dont have it-yet!

    Congrats on making Beate’s Team!

  14. Rose Ann Says:

    I think you just sold this cute snowman to a whole bunch of us with your adorable card!! I love everything about it!

  15. Heather P. Says:

    This is beautiful! Love the color combo you used, so fun!


Leave a Reply

