beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

still doing a “happy dance” October 19, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 8:25 am

I was contacted by “The Beate” and asked if I would be a team member for her weekend sketch challenges.  OMW right?  Come on!  After happy dancing around the house and my son just laughing at me, I replied with a big YES.  I rushed to the phone to call my husband who just was like, “okay!!??!”…they sometimes just don’t get it:)  Well, let’s just say the family got a nice home-cooked meal with a very pleasant attitude that evening.

I made this card for Beate’s WSC#24.

so much wsc#24

My problem is this:  is it just me or do you experience the “River Rock Chameleon” syndrome as well?  I swear this cardstock changes its color when held up against different colors of CS.  It’s hard to work with.  I used it with this color combo, and when I was completed and stood back to look at it, it looked like Certainly Celery???  Oh well…I think it worked though.

The card base is 4-1/2″ x 10″ folded in half.  Cut 1-1/8″ off one side.  Added strip of Groovy Guava ribbon from Sherbert Ribbon Originals and a strip of So Saffron CS.  Stamped “So Much” on the inside exposed edge of the card.

Layered on top of card base is:  River Rock CS 4-1/8″ x 4-1/4″ with edges sponged with River Rock ink and stamped the sketched circular image, and stamped “thanks” with Close to Cocoa ink; Confetti White CS 2-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ with corners rounded, paper-piercing border, a stamped sketched circular image to center of piece in River Rock ink, and edges sponged with Close to Cocoa ink;   Added two layers of ribbon from Sherbert Ribbon Originals with one pewter brad.  Attached to card base.

so much wsc#24 details

The main image:  Covered a chipboard circle from On Board Lots of Letters with Groovy Guava CS and stamped.  Edges sanded.  Cut out a Close to Cocoa CS circle for base of circle.  Stamped 3 flowers on Confetti White CS and watercolored with Aqua-Painter.  Used Color Spritzer tool and Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Write Marker to add more detail to middle of flowers.  Added a Pewter Jumbo Eyelet and Rhinestone Brads to center of flowers.  Attached with adhesive and stampin’ dimensionals.

I’m still dancing:)  Can’t wait to see what Charmaine, Lori, Jenn, Sharon, and Laurie create as well. 

STAMP SET USED:  So Much

CARDSTOCK USED:  Close to Cocoa, River Rock, So Saffron, Groovy Guava, Confetti White.

INKS USED:  Stazon Jet Black, and same as CS.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Vintage Brads, Pewter Jumbo Eyelets, Sherbert Ribbon Originals, Fire Rhinestone Brads, On Board Lots of Letters, Stampin’ Dimensionals.

TOOLS USED:  Crafters’ Tool Kit, Sanding Block, Color Spritzer Tool, Aqua-Painter, Crop-A-Dile, Stampin’ Sponges, 3/16″ Corner Rounder Punch.

Oh, by the way….like mentioned, got my stamps from MFT and just love what I’ve done so far.  I will be showcasing MFT creations all next week.  Let me tell ya, these sets are way fun:) 

 

34 Responses to “still doing a “happy dance””

  1. jenn Says:

    Welcome, Mary Jo! This is GORGEOUS!!!

  2. Beautiful card Mary Jo! I love the popped up flowers. Congrats for being on Beate’s team. What a huge honor!

  3. Sue Says:

    Wonderful card. Congrats!!! What an honor!

  4. JanTink Says:

    Isn’t everyone just rockin’ with this set and we all hated the thing when we first saw it in the catalog…now you’re making me want to buy this one too!

  5. Charmaine Says:

    This is just GORGEOUS, Mary Jo! WOW! Love it!

  6. Lori Craig Says:

    Well, well, well!!! What an absolutely gorgeous card, full of dimension, color and bling! I love how you wove the flowers around the chipboard… Yep, absolutely GORGEOUS!

  7. Love the chipboard ring accent, MaryJo, and how you have the flowers popping out of it! Also like how you blinged (is that a real word?!!) the jumbo eyelets — very cool accent! You’ve given me new hope for this set I just got at Regionals this weekend, LOL! Great to have you join us!

  8. Missy Says:

    I can see why Beate asked you to be a team member. Your cards are gorgeous! Congratulations!

    And I agree with you, other people just don’t get the excitement we feel when it comes to our cards. LOL

  9. beate Says:

    I was doing the happy dance at home when you replied yes! I knew you would come up with fantastic cards for the sketches!!!
    You blew me away with this one. I love all the layers and details you added to this card.
    And I am with you on the River Rock color. It does seem to change depending on what color you use with it.
    I can’t stop looking at your card! It is stunning!
    Thanks so much for being on the sketch team!

  10. Janine Says:

    This is a very beautiful card.

  11. Corie Says:

    WOW this card is just FANTASTIC — I love the dimension. You so deserve to be on this team!!! You all are incredible!

  12. Misty Says:

    Congrats are definitely in order. Your card is amazing. Love the colors.
    Misty

  13. Jill Kirk Says:

    Very cute. This set is so adorable, especially after all the posts of examples from Regionals! Great, one more set I wish I had, ahhhhh. I love your latest posts. Your detail is so amazing. Beautiful cards. Each day I open your blog I continue to say WOW! Congrats as well 🙂 Definitely earned!

  14. Laurie Says:

    Mary Jo, what an AMAZING card!! I adore those flowers…and the way you colored them, cut them out, and placed the chipboard ring around them…well it’s just genius! Wonderful, wonderful card!!

  15. stacilynch Says:

    Congrats! You deserve it! I love how you put the rhinestone brads in the center of the big eyelets! Great job! I have been meaning to also tell you congrats for winning the SU! contest last month!

  16. Elizebeth Says:

    Beautiful card Mary Jo! And Im not friend with river rock, it’s a strange color for sure.

  17. jen ofiana Says:

    Awesome!! I can’t wait to see what you come up with every week! congrat!

  18. kuroba1412 Says:

    Congrats on being on Beate’s design team 😀 Your cards are gorgeus and your certainly deserve this. I’ll be looking forward to see your MFT creations (:

  19. Charlene Austin (SCS - Willow01) Says:

    Wowza!! This is incredible. So happy to have found your blog thru Beates!

  20. Laura Says:

    I’m so happy for you! Your work is amazing, I look forward to it everyday!

  21. Teresa Says:

    WOWZA!!! Great job with Beate’s sketch, Mary Jo! She asked you because you are fabulous!!!!!

  22. Jill Says:

    This is really beautiful! I love the hardware on the flowers.

  23. Nancy Riley Says:

    Mary Jo, your card is beautiful! Congrats on the honor of being a team member for Beate’s challenge! woohoo!!!! You are so very deserving!!! I too have a love/hate relationship with River Rock …. it’s also difficult to photograph!

  24. The more I see this set used the more I am loving it. TFS!

  25. Jessica Says:

    Great card! I like how you put the rhinestone brads in the jumbo eyelets!

  26. Congrats! Great card, I love everyhting about it! Deb

  27. Rose Ann Says:

    Congratulations for being on Beate’s team! So well deserved!! I’ve been drooling over all of your creations, this one included!

  28. Kathie Haley Says:

    Congratulations on being chosen by Beate for her team! You are very deserving and I can’t wait to see your creations. I LOVE your use of the chipboard ring. I think I use more river rock card stock than any other color.

  29. Joanne B. Says:

    What an honor to be asked to be on that team! I love her work, and its how I found YOUR blog! 😉 And of course, its fully well deserved that you’re on the team because your cards are stunning.

    I totally hear you on river rock, its such a changing color depending on what its matched with, and the lighting. So hard to capture in a photo. But this, is gorgeous no matter what the color comes out. Beautiful!

  30. Angie Tieman Says:

    Congratulations!! You always do amazing work with Beate’s sketches! And now I know how some people always have a sample ready for her to share on her blog! lol! Can’t wait to see more of your stuff, you rock! Hugs!

  31. mbrein23 Says:

    I’m brand new to blogging and found your site somehow!!! Thank you for your daily inspiration! My second post is a card inspired this post! Thanks again! -Melinda

  32. mbrein23 Says:

    I’m brand new to blogging and found your site somehow!!! Thank you for your daily inspiration! My second post is a card inspired by this post! Thanks again! -Melinda

  33. mbrein23 Says:

    Yikes! I’ll get this right …. sorry for three in a row! Just wanted you to be able to see the card … ha! Hope this is right now … melindabrein.wordpress.com

  34. Heather P. Says:

    Congrats on becoming a part of Beate’s team! You are in good company… Each member is SO talented! 🙂

    Wonderful card… Love your coloring and the way the flowers are popping through the circle!


Leave a comment