beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

HOLD ON!!! Icy conditions! November 2, 2007

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 8:30 am

I caved in and ordered some Stamping Bella stamps.  I had to have this stamp called Group Hug

 Here is my card for Beate’s wsc#26:

group hug - wsc#26            

This card took a long time to make —  I started at 9pm last night; realized at 10pm that I didn’t buy a lunch for my daughters field trip to Penn State today; had to stop and run to the Grocery Store;  Burned my finger on my Heat tool; changed the card dimensions about 2 times…ugghhhhh!  But, it was worth it cause I ended up with a really adorable card.

The card base is 4-1/4″ x 8-1/2″ Old Olive CS folded in half.  Layered with a 3-1/4″ x 3-1/2″ piece of Soft Sky Prints DSP and Purely Pomegranate Textured CS measuring 2-3/4″ x 3″. 

The main image is a piece of Shimmery White CS 2-1/2″ x 2-3/4″ with the “cracked glass technique” that was Mondays technique challenge over at SCS.  Here is Beate’s tutorial.  So my little snowmen are on ice holding on to each other for support.  I had to restamp the snowmen again on Shimmery White CS with Stazon Jet Black ink.  I cut each snowman image out.  I  watercolored using Soft Sky, Purely Pomegranate, Old Olive, Elegant Eggplant, and More Mustard Classic Stampin’ Pads.  Adhered snowmen to the main image piece.  Matted on a 2-5/8″ x 2-7/8″ piece of Elegant Eggplant CS.  Made the snowflake to the bottom right corner with a snowflake punch from EK Success and a transparency sheet.  Applied Stickles to the snowflake and attached to bottom right corner of image with a pewter brad from Vintage Brads Assortment.  Added more brads to the remaining corners.  Adhered to card base. 

group hug - wsc#26 image details

The Crop-A-Dile is a definite must have tool.  It punches through things with such ease.  I added a strip of 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain ribbon to the left side of the card.  Attached Pewter Jumbo Eyelets.  Then threaded Soft Sky Double-Stitched Ribbon through eyelets and tied in bow.  Stamped sentiment with Basic Black ink.

group hug - wsc#26 ribbon details

Can’t wait to see what Beate, Charmaine, Jenn, Laurie, Lori, and Sharon create this week….go check out their sites.

TFL and have a wonderful, fun-filled weekend:)    

 

24 Responses to “HOLD ON!!! Icy conditions!”

  1. Denise Says:

    You’re right…it was worth the time and effort…the card is fantastic!

  2. jenn Says:

    oh, holy touchable dimension and gorgeous details! LOVE it!

  3. This is SO sweet, Mary Jo — love your icy snowmen, it has such great dimension!

  4. beate Says:

    Oh my GOODNESS! This is incredible. LOVE that you layered the snowman over the cracked glass. Love your ribbon treatment, love your acetate snowflake. Fantastic card!
    Hugs and smiles

  5. Charmaine Says:

    Mary Jo this is adorable! I LOVE it! How cute!

  6. Melissa Says:

    It’s fabulous Mary Jo! I agree with Beate, I love how you layered the images over the cracked glass!

  7. LeAnne Pugliese Says:

    Oh, this is too stinkin’ cute!!! What a clever idea!

  8. Lori Craig Says:

    Oh snowmen!! They make me happy! 🙂 Beautiful, Mary Jo – love all your hardware and accents! Absolutely LOVE your skating snowmen….amazing card!

  9. Laurie Says:

    Oh my gosh!!! How clever!! You did such an amazing job with this card…wow!! You also have a great eye for detail! Just beautiful!

  10. Elizebeth Says:

    This is just wonderful! I love your name for it and it’s just so cute!

  11. Jill Kirk Says:

    Oh my goodness, that is so cute. I am pretty partial to just SU stamps, but I really like this one. The card is fantastic. Cute!!! I love snowmen 🙂

  12. Jen Ofiana Says:

    So cool how you made ice under the snowman! Genius!!! TFS!!

  13. Great card! I love the cute icy snowmen!

  14. Angel Says:

    Gorgeous card!

  15. Nikki Says:

    That stamp is tooo cute! Your card is amazing! You rocked the challenge! I can’t wait to try! {SMILES}

  16. Christi Says:

    This card is fantastic!! That stamp is on my wish list! Too cute!!

  17. Julie Masse Says:

    Great card! So many nice elements make your card fantastic!

  18. OMG! This is precious! Who makes that adorable stamp of the snowmen? Love the glossy look of it too. Thank you for sharing your artwork.

  19. Diane G Says:

    This is sooooo cute! I love the little ice rink affect.

  20. Sue B Says:

    Beauty of a card – love the colors and stamp set!
    Thanx for the inspiration!
    later, alligator!
    – SueB

  21. Heather P. Says:

    This is SOOOOO cute… Absolutely LOVE it! 🙂

  22. Wonderful snowman card! Your cards are such a treat to view. TFS ~ Deb

  23. Penny Says:

    This card is sooooo cute. TFS!


Leave a comment