beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Artfully Asian coordinates… January 11, 2008

with the new SU! Ginger Blossoms DSP.  Ahhh, so dust off this set and breathe life back into it.  I decided to use it for Beate’s wsc#30

Everything on this card is SU! except for the Flame Dew Drops that I’ve been dying to use on a project.  They are the coolest. 

beate wsc#30 artfully asian     

Actually, I used a couple stamp sets on this card:  Artfully Asian, A Beautiful Thing, and Ginormous Flowers.  And I think it flows and coordinates. 

The card base is Kraft CS (because I wanted to use plain chipboard) and measures 5-3/4″ x 9″ folded in half.  Not the norm size but I was playing around with trying to make everything fit.  The next layers are:  Groovy Guava CS 4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″; River Rock CS 4-1/8 x 5-3/8″; Ginger Blossoms DSP (flower pattern) 4″ x 5-1/4″; stamped sentiment in Rose Red ink on Very Vanilla CS 5/8″ x 3-1/2″ and distressed edges with my Cutter Kits Distressing Tool; stamped image from Artfully Asian in Groovy Guava ink on Very Vanilla CS 5/8″ x 2-1/2″ and distressed edges; vertical piece of Ginger Blossoms DSP (striped pattern) 1-1/2″ x 4″.

If you look closely to the vertical piece of striped Ginger Blossoms DSP, I used my 3/4″ Circle Punch and placed the punched out circles in a pattern.  This is throughout the new collections catalog and I so love this touch.  My tip to you is — very hard to do on patterned papers.  I had to cut, line up, punch and re-punch just to get it right.  I’m glad I did it though because it adds just the right amount of dimension to a rather simple piece of DSP. 

beate wsc#30 artfully asian upclose  For the details to the strip of Very Vanilla CS…like mentioned, I first stamped the flower image in Groovy Guava ink.  On a piece of Shimmery White CS, I stamped the image again in Rose Red, River Rock, and Cameo Coral inks.  I used an Aqua-Painter to then color in the flowers and cut them out.  Attached to the “stem/branch” with Mini Glue-Dots.  For the flowery medallion, I used my Scallop Punch to a piece of Groovy Guava CS.  Next layer is a chipboard circle from On Board Blossoms & Basics.  Next is a flower from A Beautiful Life stamped in Cameo Coral ink on Shimmery White CS and edges sponged with Rose Red ink.  Next little flower is from Ginormous Flowers stamped in River Rock ink on Shimmery White CS.  Added 3 Flame Dew Drops to middle of flower.  I added a chipboard photo corner, again from On Board Blossoms & Basics, to the bottom right corner of the card and added 3 more Flame Dew Drops.

Want to view some more samples of Beate’s wsc#30?  Head on over to the blogs of these extremely talented girls:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Thanks for all the Birthday wishes to my little Ethan who turned the big “4” yesterday.  He is so funny.  He sneaked and opened up all his gifts while I was prepping for his party.  I took the day off from all stamping and played Wii and just bonded with him. 

Have a wonderful weekend:)  Monday brings UPS my way with some new goodies!

 

17 Responses to “Artfully Asian coordinates…”

  1. AWESOME! Love every single detail!! 🙂

  2. Charmaine Says:

    Just beautiful, Mary Jo! Love that paper! What a soft and pretty card!

  3. Lori Craig Says:

    Hmmm, hello? This is drop-dead gorgeous! So soft and pretty…You really knew how to work those strips across the top. Love, love, love your tree branches!

  4. jenn Says:

    WOW – so many pretty pretty details. The extra flowers on the branch, the shiny dew drops, the distressed edges. Wonderful!

  5. Beate Says:

    You always dazzle me. The details on your cards are stunning! This card is no exception. It’s beautiful! I need to get me some of those dew drops.
    Happy belated birthday to Ethan. Hugs and smiles

  6. Steph Pez Says:

    Cute stuff MJ!!! Everything on your website is just adorable! Miss you so much!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Stunning card Mary jo, LOVE the pretty design, detail & paper. I see you used the NEW dew drops, mine our in the mail, can’t wati. Its a must for embellishments. Jennifer 🙂

  8. So beautiful ! I love looking at your cards every week , they are always awesome !!

  9. Charlene Austin (SCS - Willow01) Says:

    Really pretty. I would never have thought to put 3 of those Dew Drops together. It’s those little touches that you come up with that continue to keep me in awe. Beautiful work!! Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. Mary Jo, this is just the kind of exquisite work that I know I’m going to find when I click on your site!!! I absolutely love all of the details that you put into your cards!! And those Dew Drops (I’m a HUGE fan of Dew Drops) together like that…genius!!

  11. Love your card for this sketch! Just lovely! Deb

  12. Debbie Olson Says:

    What a gorgoeus card! Yes, theya ll coordinate beautifully here!

  13. Rachel M. Says:

    So pretty!

  14. Carolyn King Says:

    Gorgeous! I love that dp and love your dew drop accents!

  15. Carolyn King Says:

    Gorgeous! I love that dp and love your dew drop accents!


Leave a comment