beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #38 Part 1 March 7, 2008

Yeah!   It is Friday and that means it is time for Beate’s wsc.  It has been a long busy week and the weekend will continue with the craziness.  I have a workshop tomorrow with approx 16 guests in attendance….stressin’ just a little cause I have to go right to work night shift after the workshop.  The positive is that I will lose an hour due to the wonderful “spring ahead” factor.  I tend to be a shy person who has trouble with people focusing their attention directly on me…so any sweet little advice that “pro workshop demos” have, it would be greatly appreciated:)  

My Moms b-day was yesterday, so I made my sample with her in mind:

 beate wsc #38 

I wanted it to be bright and cheery for my mom so I went with Pumpkin Pie, Purely Pomegranate, and Old Olive for my color combo – with a touch of black to make some details pop.

Here is a close up to show you the new SU! glitter that I added to the leaves/swirls:

beate wsc #38 upclose

Be on the lookout for Part 2 on Sunday. 

STAMP SETS USED:  Stitched Exotics and SAB set Lots of Thoughts.

CARDSTOCK USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Whisper White, Old Olive, Basic Black, and Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP.

INKS USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Old Olive, and Pumpkin Pie.  White gel pen.

ACCESSORIES USED:  Purely Pomegranate Dbl-stitched Ribbon, Paper Piercing tool/Mat Pack, Crystal Effects, Pop-Up Glue Dots, 1-3/8″ & 1-1/4″ Square Punches, 5-Petal Flower Punch, Old Olive 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon, Celery Fine Cosmo Glitter, Earth Elements & Neutrals Colored Buttons.

Make sure to stop by the blogs of the following to see more takes on the challenge:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Enjoy your weekend 🙂

 

27 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #38 Part 1”

  1. jenn Says:

    MJ, this is so , so beautiful! I love the colors (so me!) and the GLITTERY GLITZ! It’s lovely!

  2. Charmaine Says:

    This is gorgeous, MJ! WOW, so happy and bright and just the perfect glitz!

  3. […] sure to check out the other chicks: Beate, Cambria, Charmaine, Jenn, Laurie, Mary Jo and Sharon. Good, good stuff! Tomorrow is the 8th, and I’ll be posting Divine Design at 10:00 […]

  4. Beate Says:

    Mary Jo, you always dazzle me! Your card is beautiful! You know I LOVE those colors! I love how you cut your paper at an angle to get diagonal lines, I love the faux stitching, the button, glitter….Fantastic card!
    Have a great weekend!
    Hugs and smiles

  5. Love that sentiment — such a bright and cheery card, MJ — your Mom will love this!

  6. Kerry D-C Says:

    Just Gaw-geeeeeeeous!! Love these warm colors.

  7. SHAZAM! This is SO awesome!!

    Your workshop… I get THE same way. FREAKS me out, but I’ve learned to just go with it, and most importantly HAVE FUN. If you make a mistake, just say “now that I’ve shown you what NOT to do”… I use that one a lot. 🙂 Get psyched baby….. I know you must totally dazzle them. I wish I could come!!

    Happy Birthday to Mums!

    ~C

  8. Staci Lynch Says:

    Love all the sparkle! I will be praying for a great workshop (very lucky ladies!) and that you get a few hours of sleep!!

    Staci

  9. Emily N. Says:

    Amazing card MJ! I know that your workshop will go great! If you showed up and didn’t say a word and just showed people your beautiful artwork, I’m sure you would sell SU stuff like hotcakes! I usually don’t like to be the center of attention or speak in front of others, but when I am doing a workshop or a class, it just spills out of me because I love teaching people the craft of stamping!
    I feel your pain about being busy all day and then working night shift at the hospital (I’m a step-down nurse)! I bet your night will go super fast because you will be so excited about the awesome workshop that you held before going to work:)

  10. Beauty card, Mary Jo! I’m in front of people a fair amount, and the thing that has always helped me is realizing that these people are potential friends, and that puts me at ease. Besides, you interact all the time with people you don’t know as a nurse, so just consider these women liken them–they’re in need of something you can provide: FUN and a great learning experience. You’ll minister best by keeping it simple and letting who you are shine through.

  11. Janine Says:

    Beautiful color combination !! Love it !!

  12. Dawn E. Says:

    Gorgeous MJ! Love the details and the new glitter looks wonderful!
    Good luck at your workshop….16 people…wow! I stress with 10 or 12…I don’t speak well in front of a large group but getting better. I’m the President of our parents group at school…lol…WHAT was I thinking. I practice at my meetings there so I can do better at my workshops.

  13. Maren Says:

    Gorgeous colors! Great job on the faux stitching too! So cute!

  14. Pam Speidel Says:

    FABULOUS! I’m so impressed with this one! Love what you’ve done with this sketch and stamp sets. Bravo!

    Smiles, Pam 🙂

  15. Jill Kirk Says:

    Love love love it. One of my favs. Congrats on the workshop too 🙂

  16. Kira Says:

    Lovely card! And I’m sure the workshop will go well. I lecture at university (and will someday be a prof I hope!) so I know how nervous it can get. Just remember to breathe. That’s number one. And like others have said, these are potential friends. Plus at least you know anyone who is there is interested! Just because you’re leading the workshop doesn’t mean you can’t learn from them as much as they learn from you. If you’re having fun they will too. 🙂

  17. Erika Says:

    Beautiful card! Love the color scheme

  18. What a delightful colorful beautiful card! Happy birthday to your Mom! As far as your workshop goes, just take your time, speak slowly and it will flow without a hitch! Your work will dazzle them all! You will do great! Deb

  19. Amber Says:

    This card is brilliant MJ, great job! I love the colors and the stamps you used! TFS:)

  20. rose kerry Says:

    OMG this card is gorgeous. Your mom is going to love all the care and detail you put into it. I LOVE the color combo. Excellent card!!!

  21. Mary Jo this is fantastic!!! I really, really love it!!! The squares with the stripes going different directions is just over the top wonderful!

  22. Jennifer Says:

    Gorgeous card Mary jo, LOVE the fun colors, ribbon and flowers. Have a great weekend and class, Jennifer 🙂

  23. RaeAnne Says:

    mj albright – i’ve tagged you, go to my blog to see what you dooo…

    =D

  24. Heather P. Says:

    WOW, this is just gorgeous!!! Hope your workshop was a blast!! 🙂

  25. Andria Says:

    This is a stunning card! I love the glitter on there. I will have to get some to try that, too! Great blog! I always visit for inspiration!

  26. Debbie Olson Says:

    WOW! Another absolute jaw-dropper! You are SO blessed with talent!


Leave a comment