beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #39 March 14, 2008

Filed under: weekend sketch challenge — mjalbright @ 2:04 pm

Yep, it’s Friday.  I’m really excited to be home with my family this weekend to get some things done around the house, catch up on some stamping, and take the kids to a movie.  So, today I thought it was Thursday…lol.  Come on!!  It has happened to all of us right?  Which means I am late with posting my sample for Beate’s wsc #39

Here is my sample that I created.  I switched to focal point to a circle with another Vellum circle to frame in the stamped medallion:

beate wsc #39 

I used SU! Kind Thoughts set that my dear friend (and upline) Deb Kemp let me borrow to play with.  She is the greatest.  Any time I need something, or run out of a product, I run on over to her home and she always provides the supplies I need.  She has helped me out tremendously.   Big Thanks Deb:)

I think this may be my latest favorite color combo:  Vanilla, Soft Sky, and Night of Navy.  It is very elegant.  I read in one of the wedding mags out their that this is a “hot” color combo for weddings.  I see why. 

STAMP SET USED:  SU! Kind Thoughts

CARDSTOCK USED:  Night of Navy, Soft Sky CS and Prints DSP, Very Vanilla, Vellum

INKS USED:  Night of Navy, Versamark

ACCESSORIES USED:  Scallop Punch, 1/16″ Circle Punch, Paper-Piercing Tool (Mat Pack), Silver Brads, Iridescent Ice, the navy satin ribbon I got at my local craft store.

I’ll share with you a pic of the craziness.  I know this has happened to all of us when we are rushing around day to day trying to get everything done.  Remember, it is cold here where I live.

ME:  Ethan!  Run upstairs and change your clothes so we can run to the grocery store.

ETHAN:  Okay Mom.

ME:  Hurry up Ethan.

ETHAN:  (standing at the front door) Mom, I’m ready.

ethan dresses himself

ME:  Get upstairs right now.  You are not wearing Crocs & Swimming Shorts!

Oh the life of a 4 year old.  Changing his clothes 10 times a day.  Gotta love it.

Now, check out the blogs of these talented ladies to see more takes on Beate’s wsc:

Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Jenn Balcer, Laurie Schmidlin, Lori Craig, and Sharon Harnist.

Enjoy your weekend:)

 

21 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #39”

  1. sandy Says:

    That is so like my 3 year old daughter!!! It will be so cold outside but she is dressed like she is at the beach! Love your work!

  2. Emily N. Says:

    Beautiful card!! Little Ethan is very stylish too! I have three boys, and my oldest, who is almost 7, still comes up with some pretty “interesting” outfits 🙂
    I have been drawn to the “Kind Thoughts” stamp set time and again! I believe I will have to put that on my last minute SAB order tomorrow after seeing your card! Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. Jen Ofiana Says:

    That is a great color combo.. may have to try one with some new stamps I am expecting! Love Ethan’s outfit! Just like my Josh.. always mismatched but too cute!

  4. Angie Tieman Says:

    Beautiful card, oh so elegant! ANd Blue is my favorite! Your Ethan story and picture cracked me up! You’re no fun at all…he might have wanted to stop for a swim on the way to the store!

  5. Wonderful card, love your velum and the color combo! Looks like your kid is not lacking in personality! LOL! Too cute! Deb

  6. Charmaine Says:

    Beautiful card, MJ! Love it! And what a darling picture! I have a 4 year old, so I’m very familiar with those “moments”! Thanks for sharing!

  7. love your card Mary Jo…..I can totally relate to the wardrobe issue…My 4 year old daughter battles me daily on this…..she insists on wearing what she calls “up shirts” – translation: tank tops – in the dead of winter..it’s cold here in Delaware too!!!

    anyway, thanks for sharing…as always your work is awesome!
    Val

  8. Caz Says:

    LOL too cute!!

  9. Lynn Says:

    Your card for the sketch is gorgeous and your child is too cute!

  10. Lori Craig Says:

    OH I am busting a gut…..Hey, I took my 5 year old out in to trood through a pasture last week in Barbie flip flops – it was 29 degrees. She’s just fine. He will be, too! Love your gorgeous, gorgeous card! It’s just beautiful…I am going to try that combo – I’ve really been drawn back to more ivory lately. Have a wonderful weekend, sweet friend.

  11. Beate Says:

    Gorgeous card, MJ! I will have to try your color combo! It looks wonderful!
    Ethan made me smile! That’s so cute.
    Hugs and smiles

  12. Jenny Gropp Says:

    Love this color combo!

  13. Beautiful colors, MJ — one of my favorite combos, too! And oh, I can relate to that 4-yr old conversation!

  14. Conniecrafter Says:

    very pretty card, love the colors and your pretty butterfly!
    Your son cracks me up, he is ready for spring isn’t he!

  15. Janine Says:

    Gorgeous card and such a cute kid!!!

  16. Cyndi Says:

    lol he looks just like my daughter when she dresses herself. Pirate pants and a non matching t shirt, bball cap, some variety of shoes and a quilted vest!

  17. Beautiful card Mary jo, LOVE the pretty design and soft colors.

    I also have to laugh, my little ones are dressing the same way… They both had their swim suits on yesterday! LOL:)

    Have a great day,
    Jennifer 🙂

  18. Heather P. Says:

    LOL, that’s too funny! My DD is ALWAYS changing her clothes and creating the wackiest combos. 🙂

    Gorgeous card! 🙂

  19. Jessica Says:

    cute pic and story! beautiful card!

  20. cassidy Says:

    So elegant. LOVE the colors! Your boy is so cute. I have lots of those moments with with a 3 and 5 yr old (boys)


Leave a comment