beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #42 PART 1 April 4, 2008

Friday brings another one of Beate’s wsc.   This weeks sketch was very challenging for me.  I played, turned, restarted, and finally came up with a card that I am really pleased with.

beate wsc #42 sample  I’m not one who gossips, but I love the sentiment with this card.  And how spring-ish.  Makes me want to go outside and start prepping the flowerbeds and my very small garden. 

I created this card using MFT new release set “Can Ya Dig It?” .   Last night I was telling my hubby that I have to go shopping this weekend for new updated patterned paper (picture the slight head shake and blank look in his eyes…lol).  And then I remembered MFT digital paper packs that I downloaded, printed, and put to work.

Couple things going on with that wheelbarrow:  I stamped the image on Shimmery White CS, watercolored in with Chocolate Chip and Close to Cocoa ink, applied Ranger Crackle Accents, let dry, cut out, used Pewter Jumbo Eyelet for wheel and Pewter wire for back leg stand and seed packet post.  I stamped 3 pots, cut out, and adhered to the back of the wheelbarrow.  I stamped the little seedling plants in the appropriate places.  Attached wheelbarrow to Shimmery White CS using Stampin’ Dimensionals. 

 beate wsc #42 upclose

Here is a card I made with the same set to show more images:

mft can ya dig it sample  For this sample, I used Memory Box Inspire Collection for the background.  I purchased “flat” toothpicks to use for my seed packets.  I added some Cowboy Dew Drops for balance.  Added Crystal Effects to the pumpkin, carrot, peas, and flowers on the hat.  I just love how I have her holding the bunny (which is a gardeners nightmare…lol) 

To see more samples for Beate’s wsc, check out the sites of:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Sharon Harnist

Hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and thanks for all the visits & comments this week:)   So appreciated!

 

27 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #42 PART 1”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    This is just ADORABLE, MJ! I LOVE it! What a great use for that set. . and the colors are SO pretty! Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Janine Says:

    Love this set and what you did with it here!!
    Have a great weekend.

  3. jenn Says:

    How perfect this card is – the wheelbarrow is SO cute! Have a wonderful weekend, MJ!

  4. Lorri Says:

    Mary Jo, you are one incredibly talented girl! I am amazed at what you come up and just shake my head going, “how does she THINK these things up?” You are SO SWEET to share with us “fans” out here!! Keep up the great work, and God bless!

    ~Lorri 🙂

  5. DeniseLynn Says:

    Oh my goodness!!!! That wheelbarrow card is so fabulous!!! Your mind works in wonderful ways girl. {feel free to send that one to me} Hee Hee!!! thanks for sharing your talent and inspiring others to give it our best.

  6. Oh wow… this is an AWESOME set… I think I NEED it! 🙂 LOVE your cards!! 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  7. leanne Says:

    That wheelbarrow is too cool. The whole card is great!

  8. How creative you were with that wheelbarrow — I love the large eyelet and kickstand you made, just brilliant! The crackle accents add just the right touch to it and and I like all the dimension with the flower pots and seed packet stakes — cute set!

  9. Conniecrafter Says:

    I just love the wonderful little touches you add to your cards, the wheelbarrow is just too cute, and your toothpicks for the seed packets, such pretty colors in the first and love your garden scene in the second, Great spring cards!

  10. Kim/Kauai17 Says:

    Soooooo cute. I am lovin’ the new dig it set. Love the crackled wheel barrow and the wheel. Great cards!!!

  11. Melinda Says:

    I just LOVE this and the old wheelbarrow. It’s fabulous! Love your metal and that cute wheel, too! And that red plaid paper just finishes it off. 🙂

  12. Taylor Says:

    This is so cute! You are just too clever… from the cracked wheelbarrow to the jumbo eyelet wheel, to the popped up pots emerging from the wheelbarrow. All such cool details! Love it! Have a great weekend!

  13. Emily N. Says:

    I just love the jumbo eyelet wheel and the flat toothpick details! Wonderful cards!

  14. Love your garden card. The wheel is great. Thanks for sharing all of your ideas.

    Alicia Weiman
    http://www.happystamp.blogspot.com/

  15. Jennifer Says:

    So sweet Mary jo, Both cards are beautiful. Have a wonderful weekend, Jennifer

  16. Wow, another awesome card.
    I love all the wonderful details.

  17. Well The wheelbarrow is a hit! Love your brad wheel! Great card! Deb

  18. Mary Jo, your creativity never ceases to amaze me!! That wheel barrow is the COOLEST thing!!!! I just love your whole card!! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  19. Kerry D-C Says:

    A FABTASTIC card! makes me feel all summery!

  20. Beate Says:

    Fantastic card, MJ. I love all the details.
    Hugs and smiles

  21. Gorgeous. I just ordered this set on friday. Oh and I DID order the Punch a Bunch that you inspired me to. Yay! I’ll be back to CASE you!

  22. Libby Says:

    LOVE this top card with Beate’s sketch! I think that’s one of my favorite cards I’ve seen with that new MFT set!

  23. Cindy Major Says:

    Wow, you used that new set brilliantly! Good thing you kept plugging at it with the first design – it turned out absolutely awesome! That patterned paper adds the perfect country touch and complements the images beautifully.

    Cindy Major

  24. Kathleen Says:

    Those two cards are GREAT!!! Thanks so much for all the ideas!

  25. […] I wanted to try out a flap card (you can view the tutorial here) to coordinate with the oh so fun card I made last friday that you can view here: […]

  26. Ickle Pickle Says:

    Fabulous set, love it, well done 🙂

  27. Lori Craig Says:

    How’d I miss this???? I must have fallen of that wagon this week! This is adorable!


Leave a comment