beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #47 May 9, 2008

Happy Friday!!!  It is time for another one of Beate’s wsc

I cringe when I have to work with ovals.  I’m probably the only stamper who doesn’t own an oval punch or diecut of some sort.  I do have the oval coluzzle, but I really don’t like it.  When I saw that big nice oval on this weekends sketch, I knew I was faced with a challenge…lol  I tried to keep my sample as close as possible to the sketch, but the tag ended up hanging too low. I didn’t want to raise the dog tag up cause you wouldn’t be able to see some of the collar details. 

  I love dogs.  I wanted to try and use every dog image from the MFT set Gone to the Dogs.  Let me tell you — I was masking most of Wednesday evening.  There are 12 dogs….a breed for everyone! 

Couple things:  Collar is Twill Tape dyed with craft ink.  Silver eyelets, closure, and loop to twill to make the collar look sorta realistic.  Silver eyelets to 3 corners with mini brown brads. 

Head on over to the blogs of these extremely talented stampers to see more samples for the wsc:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Have a wonderful weekend!   HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL OF YOU.  Hmmm…how about a day of stamping with no interruptions & a clean stamping area with all supplies easy to find..lol:)  After chatting with some friends regarding all our stamping stuff, I am organizing this weekend.

 

24 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #47”

  1. SueB Says:

    I thot {I} was the only one who didn’t own any and had figured I wouldn’t participate in this sketch challenge because of it but now maybe I will! LOVE your card … as usual!
    Have a t’riffic weekend!

  2. jenn Says:

    Oh, holy coloring. This is *amazing*, MJ! Beautiful work!

  3. Beate Says:

    Oh my goodness. I bet you were masking most of the evening. It’s so worth it though. Your card is amazing. Your coloring is like always out of this world.
    I am glad you didn’t go with ovals but made this beauty! Awesome sample for the sketch!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Hugs and smiles
    P.S.: It’s really time that you give up your resistance and buy some Nestabilities. You know you NEED them. LOL

  4. leanne Says:

    What a fun card! I love all the dogs. I also liked how your put the brads inside the eyelets. So clever you are!

  5. Charmaine Says:

    You are too funny! You cringe when you have to work with ovals! LOL I LOVE this card! LOOK at that pack of dogs! Oh my. . .what wonderful masking! have a wonderful weekend and Mother’s Day! HUGS!

  6. Holy hot dawg! AWESBOMB! Your coloring is amazing! And, I LOVE that dog tag! TOO CREATIVE!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. Amy Says:

    As always, Mary Jo, this is outta this world! Love the dog collar and tag, and of course your gaggle of poochies (I suppose it’s not really a gaggle, but I can’t think of what a bunch of poochies would be called???).

    BTW, I don’t own an oval punch or those darn nesti–whatever they’re called, wink, wink!

    Amy

  8. Lori Craig Says:

    This is stinkin’ cute! Love the dog collar and the bone tag… Just too adorable! Have a wonderful Mother’s Day!

  9. Jen Ofiana Says:

    Awesome card MJ!!

  10. What an adorable card!

    And no, you aren’t the only stamper without those things. I don’t have any ovals either. Not for lack of want but for lack of funds, time to look, laziness….you know, the major things. teehee!

  11. antje Says:

    I just love, love your dog card – amazing coloring, so many creative ideas….and the masking looks like a lot, a lot of work! Hope it will go to somebody who appreciates it!!

  12. Okay…you are AMAZING, you know that??!!! Your coloring is beyond gorgeous (if I lived closer I would SO sign up for Private coloring lessons!!!)! Your card is so unique…and just beautiful!
    I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day!!

  13. Deb Kemp Says:

    As always…. WOW!

  14. Lisa Says:

    That is an AMAZING card! I love the detail and can appreciate the hard work and creativity involved. Bones are sort of oval!

  15. Conniecrafter Says:

    very cool, love your coloring and how you have them all together, neat idea with the twill for a collar, love it!

  16. Love your canine collection! I think I see my boy Lobie on the top left! So how many sets of dogs are all of these? I must go right over and check them out! I have a couple of the dogs walking sets, but that is all. Your collar is so cleaver! Ruff ruff!
    Have a happy healthy day! Deb

  17. Linda L Says:

    Oh my gosh Mary Jo, those dogs are adorable. You are such a clever little bunny. Love it. Yep-love the sound of the “ideal” Mother’s Day you’ve suggested. Hope it’s great whatever you get up to.

  18. Dawn Easton Says:

    Totally adorable MJ! Fantastic job with all the masking….you brave lady 🙂 Turned out great!!! Well worth the effort….such a fun card!

  19. Viv (VivLyn) Says:

    This is adorable! Love all those little dogs!!

  20. Laurie Says:

    This card is fantastic! You are super talented!

  21. WOW this is just fabulous! I LOVE dogs too and have been arguing with myself about purchasing this set since it came out on Wednesday or whatever day that was. I think you should have a blog candy drawing for this card and I think I should win it!! I need to hold it!
    Diane 🙂

  22. Libby Says:

    OMGosh, this is so adorable – and I can’t imagine the effort it must have been to mask all of those doggies! Wow. You are one dedicated stamper. 🙂

  23. Sarah B Says:

    This card is soooo cute!! Where does the dog bone tag come from??


Leave a comment