beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #50 May 30, 2008

Happy Friday!  That means it is time for another one of Beate’s wsc…..#50 that is! 

I took my pics in natural sun light for once and there are some shadows.  I added upclose pics so you can see some of the details better:)

  

Always good to have a baby card handy.  I thought I would use this sweet pea in a pod image from Lockhart Stamp Co.    Also wanted to use this cute silver rattle charm.  I carried the “silver” theme throughout the card for balance.

For the pea image, I actually stamped the image twice so that the top of the pod had more dimension to it (I know they aren’t called leaves, but the 4 little “stemy-things” at the top — I stamped, colored, adhered the upfront 2 of the 4 so it appears more realistic..KWIM).  I masked and omitted the stem for the pod because I wanted to create it with silver wire.  The buttons have the silver wire as well.  Added a touch of Crystal Effects to the little peas for the finishing touch to the main image.

  ignore those shadows:)

Here is an upclose of the charm, ribbon, dry-embossed circles, and scalloped textured cardstock.  I like all the subtle different textures on this card.

 

Head on over to these sites to see more wsc samples:

Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Laurie Schmidlin, Lori Craig, and Sharon Harnist

Ugghhh for me!  I worked last weekend and I’m working this weekend as well.  Somehow I have to work friday night, think of stamping, attend a wedding from 11-3 that is 1hr away, think of stamping, come home, sleep briefly, head back to work for another night shift, assist hubby with opening the pool, think of stamping, nap, back to work, think of stamping…lol  I’ll definitely be thinking of blogging and creating:)  Hope you have a wonderful weekend:)

STAMP:  Sweet pea in a pod from lockhart stamp co.

CS:  su! chocolate chip, textured soft sky, shimmery white

PP:  sei chick-a-doo line (hickups and pee-wee’s kiwis papers)

INKS:  stazon timber brown; su! close to cocoa, certainly celery, mellow moss, and soft sky

ACCESSORIES: rattle charm from boxer scrapbooks; foam tape adhesive; SU! district ribbon originals, silver brads, fresh favorites I colored buttons, crystal effects, silver wire. 

TOOLS:  crop-a-dile tool, 3/16″ corner rounder punch, 1/4″ circle punch, photo corner punch

 

23 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #50”

  1. Charmaine Says:

    THis is just too sweet, Mary Jo! So cute! Have a great weekend!

  2. Beate Says:

    Another beautiful card, Mary Jo. Your attention to detail is always fantastic!
    Have a wonderful weekend! Hugs and smiles

  3. Dawn Easton Says:

    Beautiful card MJ! Sorry you are so busy this weekend…need me to stamp for you? lol…BUT you do have a pool! That’s a bright spot!

  4. Totally adorable… I always love your little details. 🙂

    Have a super weekend!! 🙂

  5. Angie Says:

    What a wonderful card! Just wanted to let you know that we appreciate the link to our site! Have a wonderful weekend.
    ~~Angie

  6. […] lots of inspiration if you visit Beate Johns, Cambria Turnbow, Charmaine Ikach, Laurie Schmidlin, Mary Jo Albright and Sharon […]

  7. Kelly S Says:

    Hoe cute, wonderful job and I love every single detail!!

  8. Tanya Says:

    This is such a sweet card! I love the details you added! Plus your pictures turned out awesome for the up-close stuff!

  9. Great card and sketch Mary jo, LOVE sweet detail and colors. Jennifer 🙂

  10. Great idea for the dimensional stem & leaves, MJ — you know I love it! I also like that sweet rattle charm and these soft colors — wonderful baby card!

  11. Love, love your WSCS card! The rattle is gorgeous! You are just beautifully talented! Have a wonderful weekend, take care! Deb

  12. This is really sweet! I love non-traditional colored baby cards!!! All the details on this are amazing—the brads, buttons, charm, ribbons—it’s just a great card!

  13. rose kerry Says:

    Your card is so adorable!!! Love all the detail and that adorable pea pod stamp. Excellent work.

  14. Kim Says:

    LOVE THAT RIBBON!! Great job on the challenge!

  15. Very nice. Thx for the close up pix too.

  16. Lori Craig Says:

    oh. so. sweet. just darling… Have a fabulous weekend!

  17. Lynne Mitchell Says:

    MJ I love checking out your adorable cards. I especially like your two different blue/green combinations on these cards.
    Have a great weekend, even though you’re working!:)

  18. Conniecrafter Says:

    way to cute, I just love that ribbon with the paper, and that charm is just precious, like how you emphasized the peas too!

  19. Joan Jeffery Says:

    Fantastic Card. I love the different things you’ve added….especially the ribbon…I have a hard time with that one, I haven’t used it much. I also like the way you rounded only one corner…it gives it a whole new look. Joan

  20. This is sooo sweet! The soft blues and greens are gorgeous together…and that baby rattle charm gives this an extra special feel! I love it!!

  21. Amy Ward Says:

    Love this sweet pea cards… so precious

  22. Oh, wow! I don’t know how I missed this post, but I LOVE this card! The crystal effects and buttons just add to the sweetness of this card! Simply beautiful!


Leave a comment