beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #94 August 21, 2009

Happy Friday Stampers!  Friday brings us another one of Beate’s great weekend sketches.  Head on over to Fresh & Fun to see her sketch.

I’m playing around with the stamp set Welcome Home because I chose to use it for a christmas card swap I’m in.  I don’t know about you, but when I look at the house & trees image, I see a christmas scene.  Again, I’m still playing around.  I will probably not make the house Real Red as I think it looks like a school house…are you now seeing other possibilities for this set?  I will make the house Chocolate Chip when I create my swaps.   

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-3-2

I used three different stamp sets to create this card:  Welcome Home, Holiday Blitz, and Sweet Season.  I love the colors and patterns of Merry Moments Designer Series Paper.  And, you can’t go wrong with some Real Red 3/4″ Polka Dot Grosgrain Ribbon on your holiday handcrafted cards:)

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-1-2

To create the scene above, you have to stamp the house & tree image a couple times:  once in Real Red ink, twice in Chocolate Chip ink, once in Old Olive ink, once in Garden Green ink, and finally…once in Versamark ink with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder heated to set.  I KNOW!!!  This seems like an aweful lot of work.  Honestly, you can opt to use markers but the ink coverage isn’t as nice. 

You have to cut out the image and layout/adhere the pieces together (you have to decide which colors you want certain parts of the image to be before cutting out). 

For the Oval Sentiment from Sweet Season stamp set, I omitted the house image from the center (by using masking tape) and added the gift image from the Holiday Blitz stamp set.  You have to cut the gift image at the bottom to make it smaller (so it fits within the oval space).  I did use markers on the gift package, cut out, and adhered. 

stampin up demonstrator harrisburg pa-2-2

 

check out what the rest of the wsc girls have created:  Beate, Cambria, Charmaine, Laurie, Lori, and Sharon.

 

 

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN UP!

Welcome Home stamp set (113433), Holiday Blitz stamp set (114982), and Sweet Season stamp (116471); Very Vanilla cardstock (106530); Merry Moments Designer Series Paper (115672); Classic Stampin’ Pads: Real Red (103133), Chocolate Chip (100908), Old Olive (102277), and Garden Green 102272Stampin’ Write Markers: Real Red (100052), Old Olive (100079), and Garden Green (100080); Real Red 3/4″ Polka-Dot Grosgrain Ribbon (115608); Versamark ink (102283); White Stampin’ Emboss Powder (109132). 

shop now-1Thanks for stopping by.  Enjoy your weekend!

 

9 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #94”

  1. Beate Says:

    MJ, you are amazing! I LOVE your snow covered tree and house. LOVE all the details and the entire card.
    Did I tell lately that I think you are wonderful artist and that you ROCK every challenge.
    Have a great weekend
    Hugs and smiles

  2. Love this house as a Christmas scene, MJ — the papers are beautiful, too. What a wonderful card!

  3. YOU ROCK! I agree with Beate.. you always ROCK the sketches! Have a great weekend sweet friend!

  4. Lori Craig Says:

    This is darling, MJ. So warm and cozy…And, your new head shot – unless I’ve missed it before this week – is gorgeous. Happy Weekend, sweet friend.

  5. this is darling! that polka dot ribbon just makes the card perfect! I happen to like the red house – it adds to the festive feel of the card. 🙂

    have a great weekend!

  6. Dorothy T Says:

    I just love the Christmas Card that you made. It is beautiful. I love the way the snow stands out on the house and the trees.

  7. Cindy Major Says:

    Whoever is swapping with you is VERY lucky! This card is gorgeous! I think it takes someone who knows stamping to appreciate how much work and details are in there.

    You used the Welcome home set wonderfully! That little house is adorable, covered with snow!

    Cindy 🙂

  8. What a clever idea, I LOVE this card and now I am adding this set to my wishlist….

  9. Susan James Says:

    These are absolutely lovely—-well done

    Susan Anne Luxury Cards
    Hand crafted cards for birthdays and all other occasions.


Leave a Reply

