beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

a “sick” teen christmas card November 20, 2009

I wanted to make my daughter a Christmas card that would bring a smile to her face….and sorta make me feel cool!  I invisioned a bright, wild, and busy card for Morgan.  Using Beate’s wsc107, I got to work and created this card for her:

If you have a teen around, you probably know the language and can relate to the sentiment.   Makes no sense to me.  I just get a silly look from Morgan when I try to speak her language.  Honestly, I feel a bit silly too….I’ll just stick to putting the sentiments on greetings  for her.

To create my sentiment, I used Calendar Alphabet & Numbers and Grateful Greetings stamp sets on Whisper White cardstock. 

The sketch has a flower at this location.  I made this a circular focal point with some fun elements that I know Morgan will enjoy looking at.

Want to see more samples for wsc107?  Head on over to see what these talented ladies have created:  Beate for sketch and details, Cambria, Charmaine, Jenn Lori, and Sharon.

Have a wonderful weekend!!!

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’  UP!  WANT TO RE-CREATE?

STAMPS:  Calendar Alphabet & Numbers and Grateful Greetings stamp sets.

PAPERS:  Kaleidoscope, Storybook Specialty, and Autumn Meadows Designer Series Paper; Whisper White, Summer Sun, Tempting Turquoise, Pixie Pink, Pink Passion, and Green Galore cardstock.

INKS:  Tempting Turquoise, Summer Sun, Pink Passion, Green Galore, Only Orange, and Pixie Pink Classic Stampin’ Pads; Pink Passion Stampin’ Write Marker; Uni-ball Signo White gel pen.

ACCESSORIES:  Fire and Ice Circle Rhinestone brads; Chunky Essentials Stampin’ Glitter; Summer Sun Corduroy Buttons; On Board Loads of Letters and Lots of Letters; My Way Punch; Jumbo Snowflake Punch; Heart to Heart Punch; Stamp-a-ma-jig Tool; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Big Shot Die-Cut Machine; SU! Backgrounds 1 Texturz Plate; Mat Pack; Paper-piercing tool.

 

8 Responses to “a “sick” teen christmas card”

  1. Beate Says:

    MJ, that is one SICK card! LOL
    LOVE all the details, the colors…everything! It’s beautiful!
    Hugs and smiles

  2. Tammy Says:

    What a cute idea. I just love the play on words and the colors are great. So cute…!

  3. Justine Says:

    WOW, I just spent an hour on your blog and I must say your artwork is amazing! I love finding blogs like this that make me want to lock myself up in my craft room and stamp away for days. Thanks for sharing all your work! I will definitely be watching in anticipation for more.

  4. Cambria Says:

    SICK indeed! Love it girl…. beautiful colors. It’s for sure to bring a sick smile! 🙂 Have a great weekend my friend!

  5. Yeah, what Beate said, LOL! Fabulous card for a teen, MJ — I know your daughter will totally appreciate it! Love the bright colors & those great chipboard elements! I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  6. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh, this is fantabulous! I can tell you it brought a smile to MY face! Fun and beautiful and totally unexpected!

    Really rad card, MJ! 😉
    Cindy

  7. shantaie Says:

    This Is so totaly sick, my 15 YO would LOVE this…and truthfuly I LOVE it too! The glittered hearts are my favorite part!

  8. Lori Craig Says:

    Love the bright colors, MJ. I’m sure your dd will love it. I think I’m too old to ‘speak the language’. LOL! Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a comment