beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Sale-a-Bration Easter Basket March 2, 2009

I’ve been playing around with some of my Sale-a-Bration goodies trying to come up with Stamp Camp ideas.  Although the project featured in this post is a little too advanced for a stamp camp, we will be creating something very similar to the basket I am sharing with you today….and this one will be displayed at the stamp camp to show additional ideas, accessories, and tools to the guests.

mja-blog-sab-easter-basket-4

Isn’t this basket so cute?  I’m going to tuck this little basket away and give it to my daughter in her Easter basket.  I used Sale-a-Bration items Yummy stamp set, So Saffron & Certainly Celery Ribbon Bundle, and Delicate Dots DSP

I’ve seen the envelope big shot die basket for some time now, but I wanted to change it up a little by creating a woven pattern to the box/basket base.  For the basket, I used my Big Shot Die-Cut Machine, Top Note Die, and Scallop Envelope Die

Here are a couple upclose pics of the basket base:

mja-blog-sab-easter-basket-2I wanted the appearance of cardstock being folded over the sides of the basket (sort of like a nice patterned fabric napkin in a real basket).  This piece was created with the Top Note Die and I placed an Antique Jumbo Eyelet with my Crop-a-Dile tool to hold the paper in place.  I threaded the Certainly Celery Ribbon through the hole and tied Hemp Twine around ribbon to secure in place.

 

 

 

 

 

mja-blog-sab-easter-basket-3Here is another upclose picture to show more of the basket details.  I added little patterned paper flowers to each side of the sentiment main focal point created with my Boho Blossoms Punch.  Added brads from Vintage Brads Assortment so they would coordinate with the eyelets on the sides of the basket.  As you can see, all basket pieces were sponged with Chocolate Chip ink.   I used Bashful Blue and Certainly Celery ink on the main sentiment on Whisper White cardstock and cut out with my paper snips.  Adhered to basket with Stampin’ Dimensionals.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mja-blog-sab-easter-basket-1

 I filled a 4″ x 6″ cello bag filled with whoppers robin eggs candies.  Closed cello bag shut with some So Saffron ribbon.  For the tag, I used Bashful Blue ink for the wording on Whisper White cardstock and punched out with my Small Oval Punch.  Adhered to a piece of Certainly Celery cardstock that I punched out with my Large Oval Punch.  I added a chipboard heart from On Board Loads of Letters.  Punched a 1/16″ hole and attached to ribbon with Hemp Twine.  I cut thin strips of Sahara Sand cardstock and ran them through my Crimper Tool.  I placed these thin strips inside of the basket with the cello bag of candy.

Sale-a-Bration is half way over.  Time is running out.  You can find out more information on my website

Thanks for stopping by!  Happy Monday:)

 

ALL SUPPLIES STAMPIN’ UP!:

STAMPS:  Yummy Sale-a-Bration stamp set.

CARDSTOCK:  Whisper White and Certainly Celery.

PATTERNED PAPER:  Sale-a-Brations Delicate Dots DSP.

INKS:  Certainly Celery, Bashful Blue, and Chocolate Chip Classic Stampin’ Pads.

ACCESSORIES:  Sale-a-Brations So Saffron and Certainly Celery Ribbon Bundle; Small and Large Oval Punches; Big Shot Die-Cut Machine, Scallop Envelope Die; Top Note Die; Stampin’ Sponges; On Board Loads of Letters; Crop-a-Dile Tool; Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelets; Vintage Brads Assortment; Boho Blossoms Punch; Stampin’ Dimensionals; Cello Bag; Crimper Tool.

 

36 Responses to “Sale-a-Bration Easter Basket”

  1. Jan Says:

    Holeee COW, Mary Jo!!! That is so STINKIN’ CUTE!!! Now I must make one of these…I hope you are satisfied, LOL!

  2. OMG ~ this is so cute & you got every effect you wanted to accomplish. You gave a lot of detail but you did share on the woven part at all. Are you going to share or do we have to conquer that one on our own. I LOVE your work. everything turns out so beautiful! Thanks for sharing Love It!

    Thanks
    Candyce

  3. this is AMAZING! I love every little detail. Now I might have to buy those dies! I am watching my money fly out the window as we speak:)

  4. kristen Says:

    Hi Can you tell me how to make this? I love it!

  5. Tonya Says:

    MJ, this is amazing! Absolutely amazing! You never disappoint! I love seeing your creations!

  6. Jill Kirk Says:

    Seriously…your mind is genious!!!! I LOVE it. I would pay millions to spend a day with you creating things!!

  7. Conniecrafter Says:

    so cute, great detail and papers!

  8. Sherry D Says:

    MJ this is FAB-ulous! I love the ‘napkin’ over the sides-you are so creative! It looks just like a little “pickinickbasket” as yogi would say! … I would love to create one but you are going to have to dish on the weaving!! Oh I know, did you do a tutorial and can you post it in the SCS Resources?! … no pressure! Ü

  9. bernie henrich Says:

    I didn’t think you would be able to so quickly turn around and top the butterfly card… BUT you did!! Amazing! Really amazing!
    You’ve really been blessed with amazing talent!

  10. Luanne tenHarmsel Says:

    I too would love to know how you made the woven part of the basket – just too cute!! Thanks for sharing.

  11. Beate Says:

    MJ, your basket is fantastic! I love it!!!
    Hugs and smiles

  12. What a great basket, I love all the details!

  13. Cindy Major Says:

    Oh my gosh, this, right here, shows why you are my favorite stamper! Love every detail you have put on that beautiful basket! Do you ever give your creations away? I hope the people that receive them appreciate the amount of work that went into their gifts.

    You definitely did SAB justice this year! TFS!

    Cindy

  14. Sheila D Says:

    OMG this is so cute. Amazing detail. I really enjoy reading your blog and looking at all your gorgeous art!

  15. Ali Manning Says:

    This is so beautiful – you are one talented lady!!

  16. Charmaine Says:

    I love this! So very cute. Would love to know how you put it all together.

    Charmaine

  17. Dawn Easton Says:

    Oh my word MJ! This is absolutely amazing!!!!

  18. Ellie Says:

    OMG–how cute is your little basket! I have had the scallop envelope die for a while and haven’t used it, but I may HAVE to now LOL Would you be willing to share your weaving technique with all of us envious stampers….please, please…pretty please ; )

  19. This is so cool, I love the basket and the colours of the paper.
    It’s awesome.

  20. Gina Says:

    MJ,
    You are truly inspirational!
    I love your work.
    Your attention to detail totally leaves me in AWE! And that is why you righteously so deserve to be an SU! Artisan Award winner.
    I hope to only create such masterpieces someday. Keep up the great work.
    Hope you don’t mind if I attempt to CASE your projects. I promise to link anything I post back to your site.
    🙂 Gina

  21. Bev Rousch Says:

    Umm, hello gorgeous!! 🙂
    This is AWESOME MJ!! Hugs,
    -Bev

  22. militarystampingmom Says:

    THUD!!!!!! Holy Cow this is amazing!!!!

  23. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!! You did a fantastic job! What an inspiration! TFS! Mary

  24. Ann Says:

    This is just plain sophisticated! It looks like something you would purchase in a specialty store!!

    I would love to know how you made it look like a woven basket, can you post that info or email me separately?

    I’m a demo & would love to try this with my gals. I just love the woven look & elegance. No worries, my plan is not to case your wonderful project! I wouldn’t dream of taking the credit for your creativity!!

    Stampin’ Smiles from Ear to Ear,
    Ann 🙂

  25. Marina Says:

    This is so beautiful!! Do you have instructions you can share?

  26. Debbie Fisher Says:

    WOW! This is amazing! Want to adopt me? LOL!! I love all the detail in the basket weave, top notch “fabric over a basket” look, and how you tied the ribbon at the sides with hemp. All the sponging gives it so much detail.

    I found your blog via JanTink’s and am so glad I did!

    I am curious what the eggs are in the bag. Are they candy or plastic?

  27. Amy Says:

    This basket is absoluetly adorable. I love it! Do you give out instructions on how you created it? I would love to make two of them for my daughter’s for their Easter basket this year. I’m especially curious at how you created the basket weave.

    Amy

  28. Karen Says:

    This is absolutely stunning. I love it! I don’t have the artistic chops to reproduce it but WOW. This is beautiful!

  29. Chanscrap Says:

    This amazing! Absolutely amazing.Can you tell me how to make this? I love it!

  30. Peggy Says:

    Remarkable!!!..me, I went with a bit more tame interpretation for my gals!! Love yours!

    Peggy
    http://stampinpegcadillo.blogspot.com

  31. Barbara from Bellflower Says:

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!!——lOVE your basket!!!!!!!!!!!—-Would you be willing to share with ALL OF US instructions on making your wonderful basket????

    Thanks – Barbara in Bellflower

  32. […] am Due to all of the requests, I wanted to share with you how I created this woven easter basket here.  I am showing you how to make one woven envelope basket side.  You can then create whatever […]

  33. Frances Says:

    Mary Jo, your basket is gorgeous! You do such awesome work. Thanks for sharing!!

  34. tracie Says:

    this is the prettiest basket i’ve EVER seen. holy cow, do you have a tutorial? please provide one for the base..i’m willing to pay!!

    you’re incredibly talented..thank you for the inspiration DAILY!

    tracie

  35. cathy Says:

    Thia is sooooooooooooo cute! please do a tutorial on how you made this little basket.

    Hugs Cathy

  36. There is definately a lot to learn about this subject.
    I love all the points you’ve made.


Leave a comment