beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

beate’s weekend sketch challenge #32 January 25, 2008

It’s Friday and that means it is time for Beate’s wsc

beate wsc32    

I HAD TO USE the cute little cake image from  Bitty Birthday stamp set (such a cute little inexpensive set from Stampin’ Up!), but I’m just not sure about combining it with the dotted flowers.  Oh well.  I’ll have a b-day card handy.

Oh the details that are hard to see.  I applied Crystal Effects all over the place; to the dotted flowers on the Berry Bliss DSP, to the cake icing, and to the punched out little flowers. 

For the main cake image — stamped first with Stazon Jet Black ink on Shimmery White CS.  Used Aqua-Painter with Close to Cocoa, Purely Pomegranate, and Pretty in Pink ink to color.  Then, I restamped over the image (with the help of the handy Stamp-A-Ma-Jig) with  Versamark Ink, applied Heat & Stick Powder, heated to set, applied Iridescent Ice, heated to set again.  Punched out with a 1-3/8″ Circle Punch and applied with Stampin’ Dimensionals to a piece of Purely Pomegranate CS that I used a Scallop Punch to.  I added a small Pretty In Pink CS trim to the Shimmery White CS circle that was created with a 1-1/4″ & 1-3/8″ Circle Punch. 

beate wsc32 upcloseupclose to show colored-in ribbon, cake, and DSP flowers.

Sentiment, “happy birthday”, stamped in Chocolate Chip ink on Shimmery White CS and punched out with a Key Tag Punch.  Used Crop-A-Dile tool to add some dry embossed circles.  Used horizontal Slot Punch so I could thread Purely Pomegranate Dbl-Stitched Ribbon through and tie in a bow.  I used a Close to Cocoa Stampin’ Write Marker to color the white stitching of the ribbon. 

The four little flowers are from One of a Kind stamp set that everyone is using right now:)  I wanted these flowers to coordinate with the Berry Bliss DSP.  I stamped them in Close to Cocoa ink, colored in the petals with a Pretty in Pink Stampin’ Write Marker.  Used a Rose Red Stampin’ Write Marker to add dots similar to those on the Berry Bliss DSP.  Covered all the brown parts of the petals with Crystal Effects.  Finished them off by adding a pink brad from Soft Subtles Brads Assortment.  Attached with Mini Glue Dots and Stampin’ Dimensionals

All pieces of CS and DSP have their edges sponged with Close to Cocoa ink.  I used a Ticket Corner Punch to all the corners.  Added more pink brads to the four corners of the card base.  I also needed something to match the DSP behind the main image…so I added a scalloped strip to the right of the card that I created with a Slot Punch

Check out these blogs to see more creations with Beate’s sketch.  I’m certain you will be amazed:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

I may have to take the weekend off from blogging…I work a 12hr night shift tonight, finished up a wedding invite package, AND I RAN OUT OF SPACE ON MY COMPUTER….I have to backup pics to disks and somehow restore some memory (or go buy more).  I have Photoshop and I keep getting a pop up that “scratch disk is full” and all sorts of memory/drive stuff that I know nothing about.  Can you say Geek Squad to the rescue.   If you have any tips on how to organize and back up precious & priceless pics, I would be happy to hear from you.  See, with having to create scrapbook pages (okay, not that often), I have to constantly see the pics.  I’m afraid if they are not on my computer, for me to see, I will forget about them.  Or, how am I supposed to remember which disk I saved it to?  Okay, I’ll confess….I’m up to like 5000+ pics that I have to somehow create a library for.  And I hear it is time consuming.  I can’t be the only one who is hesitant to hit the DELETE BUTTON.  Or am I???

Have a wonderful weekend.

 

20 Responses to “beate’s weekend sketch challenge #32”

  1. jenn Says:

    Oh my gosh. . . Beautiful! I spent the last few nights backing up photos to CDs after getting a memory message on the computer. FREAKED. ME. OUT. I feel better now. . . . I used iPhoto to categorize pics by themes. So I had school programs, karate (then separated by belt color), flowers, holidays, and then other discs for just Chan or just Adri, and still others for favorites. Overlap, for sure. But it suits my jumbled brain and if I am looking for *that picture* I’ll have a few places to look, lol!

  2. Charmaine Says:

    Just gorgeous, MaryJo! Love all the sparkle and the Crystal Effects! Very cool!

  3. Lori Craig Says:

    OH thud….Love your sparkly romantic flowers. The colors and the layers. Another beautiful take on the sketch challenge. 🙂 MJ, I have yet to actually *do* this, but I am going to purchase an external harddrive to house my photos. I think you can get a real monster (storage size – actually pretty small) for around $150. That way my computer space is freed up for speed, but I have instant access to the photos. Good luck, and let me know how that all turns out so I can do it, too. 🙂

  4. Kim Says:

    You can not delete those babies! My suggestion is an external hard drive! You can keep em all in one handy spot AND back up the other important files on your pc!

  5. Mary Jo, this is absolutely delectable! Beautiful, beautiful colors…and as always, the details are just amazing! 🙂 About the pictures….sigh….I am definitely in the same boat. Ugh!!! I always get enough off that it keeps the computer running…LOL…but it is still almost full! It freaks me out though…cuz I keep thinking about what if something would happen and I lost them all! You have inspired me to get busy backing them up!

  6. Beate Says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! I love everything! Especially the CE’d flowers on the background, the candles peaking over the first circle, the colors, the paper, the scalloped edge….okay…like I said. I love everything!
    We have an external harddrive. Rick usually backs my pictures up with it and burns them on a DVD as well.
    Have a wonderful weekend! Hugs and smiles

  7. Makes me hungry for cake! I always love all your details!! This card is totally yummy!!

  8. Love how you accented the designer paper with the CE, Mary Jo — beautiful colors for a beautiful card! Great cake stamp, too!

  9. Christina Says:

    Wow! Beautiful card!

  10. This is a gorgeous card MJ – you really rocked this sketch! I love all the colors, and the sparkle!

    I’m with them – an external hardrive is the way to go – they are relatively inexpensive and they have TONS of space on them!

    *STAMPIN HUGS* Alex

  11. Gaylyn Says:

    Just thought you’d be interested in a new site I just created for organizing your Color combinations and photos of projects you made with them!!!! SUColorQ.com has SU’s exclusive colors you can use to create Combos-which we call Color Collections, upload your photos-and save them in your Q (Queue) for quick reference. Add as many labels as you like-so the next time you’re looking for that pic of the card with the Brocade flowers done in Soft Sky-you know right where it is! Check it out, let me know what you think -Moonechild@yahoo.com

  12. […] I used all the same supplies, CS, DSP as I did for my card sample here. […]

  13. Gorgeous card and layout Mary jo. LOVE all the yummy colors and detail. Have a great weekend, Jennifer 🙂

  14. Dawn E. Says:

    Oh my…this is gorgeous! Love all the sparkle! Good luck with your computer! Hope you can get it up and running good. Sorry I’m no help though 😦

  15. Jessica Says:

    Cute project!
    I have all my pictures on my hard-drive saved by date and brief description of what’s in that file (for that day). I then back up all photos in my external drive that has like 300 GB, so it has plenty of room. Once I’m done with the pictures I’ll delete them off the computer hard drive. I’d like to get another external hard drive so that way i can save to both and keep one in our fire safe. I don’t save on cd’s any more because I’ve had them not work when I try to go back to it, so I’ve lost pictures. You can also find a website that you can upload to and then if you have a fire/computer breaks then you can get the pictures from online. But, so if I’m looking for a picture, I just have to know around what date it was taken and then just look through them.

  16. Desiree Says:

    Mary Jo, you are such an inspiration! I love your projects, they are always so beautiful.

  17. Gloria Says:

    Beautiful card. I’m just starting to stamp and loving all these beautiful cards you do.
    As for the computer and storing your pics….I just backup to a disk and then make a thumbnail print of what is on the disk and put it in a notebook in a folder that stores cd/dvd’s and copy/photo paper. Has worked for me, as I can see what is in the disk with putting it in my computer. Hope my little idea helps.

  18. Beautiful as always…not sure how you think to add all of the details to your cards! One thing to help you save a little space is to save the files you have already changed and perfected with Photoshop at jpegs so the file size is smaller. Photoshop files are gigantic!! So if you keep all of your pictures as photoshop files, you will run out of room very quickly! So I have been opening my files in Photoshop (I have Elements), making my changes and if I know I don’t plan to use that file again, I save it as a jpeg…I have a folder for each year and then folders in that for each occasion or event. Elements has an organizer in it which is good, but I am so used to my system, I don’t think I will ever fully adopt it.

  19. Nancy Shuford Says:

    Creative Memories(home based scrapbooking co.) has a very simple but marvelous computer program that organizes and backs up your photos. I really don’t like the computer but I love this program. Go to their website–creativememories.com to find a consultant near you. Good Luck!


Leave a comment