beauty lies within

expressing self by creating

Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #33 part 1 February 1, 2008

TGIF.  The weather is so nasty outside here where I live.  Everything is covered with ice.  How about a card welcoming spring.

You can check out all the details to Beate’s wsc here.  This weekends sketch is fun.  I’ve been wanting to use black on a card for some time, so I put it to work today:

beate wsc 33

Here is an upclose pic of the sentiment and to show the Iridescent Ice that is hard to see in the pics:

beate wsc 33 upclose

Again, I’m playing around with the image/file sizes (I hope it worked again this time, but a tad smaller).

Now, head on over to the blogs of these talented ladies to see more creations with Beate’s wsc:

Cambria Turnbow

Charmaine Ikach

Jenn Balcer

Laurie Schmidlin

Lori Craig

Sharon Harnist

Stay tuned for Part 2 with will feature a sour cream containter.

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful warm weekend:)

STAMP SETS USED:  SU! Garden Whimsy & Whimsy Jumbo Wheel

CARDSTOCK USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Whisper White, Wild Wasabi, Basic Black, and Pumpkin Pie Prints DSP.

INKS USED:  Purely Pomegranate, Wild Wasabi, Pumpkin Pie, Versamark.  Pumpkin Pie and Basic Black Stampin’ Write Markers for sentiment.

ACCESSORIES USED:  black brads from Vintage Brads Assortment, Flower Fusion, Hemp Twine, Purely Pomegranate Dbl-Stitched Ribbon, Scallop Punch, Crafters’ Tool Kit (paper piercing tool and template), 1-3/8″ Square Punch, 1/16″ Circle Punch, Small Tag Punch (punched to make it smaller within the punch itself), Iridescent Ice Powder.

 

22 Responses to “Beate’s weekend sketch challenge #33 part 1”

  1. Lori Craig Says:

    Oh how darling! Love this…the colors are so fun! Great job with the sketch!

  2. Charmaine Says:

    OH I LOVE this! So sparkly and just plain beautiful! Great card, Mary Jo!

  3. Krista Says:

    This card is awesome !! I love how you used the colors and the sparkling !!
    Have a wonderful weekend !!!

  4. jenn Says:

    Oh my gosh – FUN colors, HAPPY images, and you’ve just rocked the layout. . . I love all the sparkle!

  5. This is just gorgeous! Love the bright and cheerful colors.

  6. Beate Says:

    Beautiful! I love that color combo. The black really makes the other colors pops!

  7. Mary Jo, I am always amazed at your wonderful combinations of colors and fun textures! This card definitely has both going on! I love the sparkly embossed background panel…that is just so much fun!!! I can’t wait to see part 2!! 🙂

  8. WOW! Love the colors! So bright and cheerful!! YOU ROCK!!

  9. Jill Kirk Says:

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE it!!

  10. catherine Says:

    WOW! this is beautiful!

  11. Gorgeous card and design Mary jo. LOVE the fun colors and sparkle. Have a wonderful weekend, Jennifer 🙂

  12. Elizebeth Says:

    So cute! I love the sparkly critters and the happy colors.

  13. Jana Emmert Says:

    Definitely perfect for spring! The glitter, images and colors all work so well together.

  14. Janine Says:

    This is so nicely done. I love the Ice you used. What a nice touch.

  15. […] used the same supplies as the prior post for my card that you can see –>here<– […]

  16. Carolyn King Says:

    Gorgeous. love the sparkle and the cool way u used the layout! Wonderful card!

  17. Kim Says:

    GORGOUES!! Love the colors you chose! CAn’t wait for spring.

  18. Rose Ann Says:

    This is so pretty and sparkly!! I really love the colors you’ve used as well!!

  19. Very cute! Love this! TFS 🙂

  20. Janette Says:

    Would you mind my asking what irridescent ice powder is?? and how you apply it? I love the look it gives your card! So pretty!

  21. Queen Mary (G) Says:

    Mary Jo, I love your card! I love that set and I love how you’ve used this sketch and the colors and I’m going to case it — now to figure out who is my BEST friend, because that’s who it will be for since it’s so beautiful! 🙂 Mary


Leave a comment